Athlon XP cooling

Any suggestions? I was going to go water cooling, but i have no experience with it (yet). Are there any good HSF's for the athlons? I'm going to get a soltek-sl75drv5 mobo.

"If you wear a turtleneck and a backpack, it's like a weak midget is on your back strangling you"
18 answers Last reply
More about athlon cooling
  1. There are many "good" HSF`s for Athlons...trouble is none rival water cooling in hot air. The avowed best is the Silverado 462 at 80 bucks. Get a water cooler for 20 bucks more. You won`t regret it. Look at the experience you will gain. Goodluck

I want to die like my Grandfather...in my sleep...not screaming in terror like his passengers.
  2. but here are the things i must consider 1. I've never done water cooling before but i've done a lot of research about it and 2. I'm going to college next year and i'm kinda scared about losing this great water cooled system. I'm still considering it though.

"If you wear a turtleneck and a backpack, it's like a weak midget is on your back strangling you"
  3. the best air cooler are the SWIFTECH range.
  4. The Volcano 7+ is a good hsf to use for the cpu chip. thats good to use keeps it at a good temurature, It has 3 temp controls so the you can have L, M, H.

\\\//3// 7//3 31337 (0///3 |=0|2 J0/\ 83 |234|)j!!!1
  5. I was going to suggest the Thermalright AX-7 but I'm not sure it will fit your chosen motherboard. The AX-7 is an 80x80 heatsink. From the sl75drv5 picture I am looking at there appears to be a capacitor that might be in the way (near corner).

<b>I have so many cookies I now have a FAT problem!</b>
  6. yea...i also heard that the msi board has probs with larger hatsinks like the ax-7
  7. I bought an AX7 yesterday. It's an alright heat sink, but mounting isn't what I would call fun. Put a 80mm Sunon High-Output fan on it and it does well at really low dba.