Cooling Enlosure?

straius

Distinguished
Apr 29, 2002
Hello Everyone,

I am a composer who writes music for videogames and I have a humble home studio set up. The hub of which is my computer since everything I do is done digitally on my system.

My comp is in the same room that I do all my recording in. It's a few feet away from me and right now it produces so much noise that I can barely record anymore and my temporary solution is tok cover it with towels and blankets. But my system ends up getting extremely hot that way and I don't want to do that any longer. (Especially since I have several Ultra 160 SCSI drives internally that run at 15,000RPM)

What I want to do is find the best way of possibly enclosing the entire tower into a cabinet or something like that that I can sound-proof.

Does anyone here have any suggestions of the best way to go about this and efficiently cool the system while reducing the noise to Nill?

Is there anyone out there who makes something already for what I want to do?

jihiggs

Splendid
Oct 11, 2001
well, this will take some doing, you will need to get several quiet low rpm fans. you could also add some sound dampning material, go to a car audio shop and get some dynomat. that stuff works good.

you shot who in the what now?

CALV

Distinguished
May 17, 2001
I suppose building a box out of wood or MDF to house the entire pc would do it, as mentioned, a few quiet fans to keep it cool. I havnt any new px of my setup, but basically under my desk I put on sliding doors, and behind them are my p60 router and my 2k server box, this gets pretty warm so I fitted 2 x 80mm fans in the back wall of the desk. if you look at the pic of my system <A HREF="http://www.calvsplace.cwc.net" target="_new">here</A> In the corner on the shelf are now 2 dekstop cases with the above mentioned systems in, basically the same idea- it IS quiet, and as long as you have a couple of fans you hould be ok.