Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Should I even bother buying Skyrim PC? :((((

Last response: in Video Games
September 5, 2012 10:43:53 AM

Hi all! I was wondering what you guys think on my little dilemma. :/  I WANT Skyrim REALLY BAD! But I'm not sure if it would even be worth getting, because of how old my setup is... I want to at least get Medium-High settings so that it doesn't look completely bad, so here are my specs... :/  THANK YOU ALL FOR YOUR RESPONSES! :D 

Mobo: Intel D945GCCR1 (Coconut Creek)
CPU: Intel Pentium D 925 3.0GHz
GPU: nVidia 9500GT DDR2 512MB
RAM: x2 1GB DDR2 PC2-5300
PSU: ThermalTake 430w

I don't know if this matters, but I have an old CoolerMaster Wind Tunnel to air cool my Pentium D.

I really want to know if I'm wasting my money buying this game, I would invest in a new setup, but it took me FOREVER to get enough money for this game, as I'm only 14, and come from a rather poor family. :(  Please help me out. And if you guys have any extra free time, I'd also like to know if I can run Fallout 3 and Counter-Strike Global Offensive. Please tell me what setting range you think I would be able to push out, because I WILL NOT play a game on low. It makes me feel Pathetic :( 

Thanks again everyone. sQQu33

More about : bother buying skyrim

September 5, 2012 11:06:25 AM

You will be wasting your money.Your PC is pretty slow and if you buy skyrim you'll end up playing at low settings.And that does not look pretty.

Your only option is buying a new PC or at least a new motherboard so you can overclock that CPU.Either way it's not going to be cheap.
September 5, 2012 11:16:15 AM

Kamen_BG said:
You will be wasting your money.Your PC is pretty slow and if you buy skyrim you'll end up playing at low settings.And that does not look pretty.

Your only option is buying a new PC or at least a new motherboard so you can overclock that CPU.Either way it's not going to be cheap.

But I can play Oblivion maxed out on 1440x900 with 60+ frames.