Help regarding Gainward GF4 Ti4600 overclocking

Hyperblade

Distinguished
Jul 10, 2002
In the review of multiple GF4 cards at Toms Hardware it said for the Gainward card,
"Gainward guarantees an especially high overclocking potential. Unfortunately, this once again turned out to be nothing more than simple software overclocking through the EXPERTool display utility."

Im no expert in overclocking but is that simple software overclocking still overclocking the card or is there a true way for overclocking.

buddry

Distinguished
Mar 20, 2002
You have to use some type of software to overclock the card. Experttool should be good enough for your needs.

<font color=red>God</font color=red> <font color=white>bless</font color=white> <font color=blue>the</font color=blue> <font color=red>U</font color=red><font color=white>S</font color=white><font color=blue>A</font color=blue>

nja469

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2002
I use and recommend RivaTuner. You download it, install and it has simple tabs and menus to turn on and off extra features of your particular nVidia card you're using, as well it allows for you to set the clock for the GPU and memory. It tests the settings before setting it which helps you to prevent going too high! http://guru3d.com/rivatuner/ - to learn more about it and to download if you wish!

10Mhz8086

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2002
Interms of overclocking Expertool is all you need, all programs overclock the same way. There isn't any difference in the way a program overclocks a card. Plus the ExperTool will provide you with an easy way to keep your Video BIOS/Drivers/Expertool up to date.

I have a 128M Ti4200 and the max OC I've been able to get is 330/560.

Who ever made up the phrase, "If it aint broke why fix it" just didn't get it...

bigpoppapumpg

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2002