How much airflow do you need in a mid-tower case?

Vince604

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2002
I have a coolermaster ATC-110 which is a midtower case. It consists of two intake fans and one exhaust and a blowhole.

I'm thinking of maybe changing the fans that came with the case to even quieter fans and am wondering what's the recommended amount of air (CFM) should the fans be blowing in and out?

AndrewT

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2001
no clue in cfm, but it doesn't have to be major. I run my fans (2x80, 2x120, 80+90mm in silent Enermax 550W PSU) on 5-7 volts and the case got so silent that the hard drive's whining getting on my nerves while the system running silent and cool. Using a 40 Gig 5400Rpm drive right now so there is no whine, 7200 sitting unplugged but silent. :smile:

<font color=red>Got a silent setup, now I can hear myself thinking.... great silence</font color=red>

AndrewT

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2001
no never, it shouldn't do that the first place, or there is a problem.

now running it oc to 2.3GHz and still running just above 40C while playing. when I manage to flash the bios I'll how it does at higher speed, using stock heatsink/fan.

<font color=red>Got a silent setup, now I can hear myself thinking.... great silence</font color=red>

Vince604

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2002
Really?

Well if I'm not using any fans except one exhaust, cpu, and psu fan my computer can overheat.

Using the stock fan/heatsink and oc 1.6 to 1.8 GHz and after awhile playing a game it will crash.. when I check the cpu temp it's at 45C-48C and I'm assuming when it hit 50C it crashed...

AndrewT

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2001
strange, but maybe the location of my fans make a diff
I don't use the 2 front fans places, cut the side of the case instead since there was not much space in the front for air to come in the first place.

I got some pictures <A HREF="http://andrewt1.tripod.ca" target="_new">here</A> if you want to see, it's the black nikao noblesse case

Vince604

Distinguished