First time Over Clocker (Suggestions)

Khross

Distinguished
Jul 30, 2002
Ok, I am building a new system, and I plan over-clocking it. After reading reviews and posts from varies sites, I've decided to go the P4 route. I'm still undecided on the actual chip (1.6a or the 1.8a). I also need help on determaining the Motherboard and Memory. Any recommendations on hardware will be greatly appreciated. I would also like some opinions on possibly waiting for the Nforce2 board at the end of the month. Thanks in advance to all the guru's!

The difference in price between the 1.6a and 1.8a is roughly $7-10, so it's not really a matter of price. Seeing as this is my first time over-clocking, I would like to go the safest, most reliable route. I am "hoping" to get to around 2.4ghz OC'ed. I would also like to attempt getting the FSB over 533mhz, which I have read is fairly easy as well.

My System looks like this thus far.

Processor: p4 1.6a or 1.8a

Motherboard: EP-4G4a+ or Asus P4533(I am open to other suggestions.)

Memory: Samsung 2700 DDR or Corsair XMS 2700 C2, Corsair XMS 3000 C2, Corsair XMS 3200 C2.5 (Need Suggestions here as well)

Hard Drive: IBM 80GB 7200 120 GXP (Good, Bad, Better?)

CDRW: Lite on 40x12x48

Sound Card: Hercules Muse XL($20) or Hercules Furtissmo II(sp?) or Turtle Beach Santa Cruz. (I Only need this for games, I do not do anything with movies or MP3's.)

Video Card: Hercules 8500 128mb DDR. Or stick with my old Crappy Radeon 7500 and wait to see what happens with the new Video cards.

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by Khross on 07/30/02 03:59 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

Venom_IL

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2002
You seem to have built up a great system, regardless of the choices you make in each category
I can help you with several things:
Corsair XMS 3000 C2 ~= Corsair XMS 3200 C2.5 performance-wise, so the latter would be a waste of money.