Forwarding a port through 2 firewalls

bastardman

Distinguished
Aug 20, 2002
Ok, I'm very new to this.

My brother wants to host games in Warcraft 3, in order to do that he needs to have port 6112 open. We share a dsl connection on our 3 computer network with a linksys cable/dsl router. Both the router and the modem have built in firewalls.

So far this is what I've figured out; In the router I set his computer's IP to a number below the starting DHCP range, so that for him DHCP is disabled. Then in port forwarding, I set 6112 to be forwarded to his computers IP.
Now on SharkyForums, I was told to just open the port on the modem and set his mac address to always be the same. But (yes I'm stupid) I can't figure out how to just "open" the ports, and I'm not sure what the mac address is. My modem has almost no documentation, and the customer support reps know less than I do.

There are the various option screens in my modem, could you please give me a hint where to start.

Configuration
Procedures
WAN Virtual Connection
LAN
DHCP
DNS
Firewall
Port Forwarding
IP Routing and RIP Configuration
Configuration Access

atmping
dhcpcfg
dns
dslstatus
ethip
ip
ipgateway
firewall
password
ping
portforward
reboot
ripcfg
route
vc
wanaccess

The modem is a Speedstream 5667 ADSL USB Ethernet Modem from Efficient Networks (very crappy), the router is a Linksys Ethernet Cable DSL Router (model BEFSR41).

Report this post

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by bastardman on 10/14/02 05:18 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

Not possible. Been there tried everything.

Hopefully your ISP supports PPPoE. You will need to call and switch to this if you are not already running it.

You will need to set the system up with the router in bridge mode. This turns off the firewall.

Most Linksys routers support PPPoE. This needs to be configured to connect and log in.

Now you can forward your ports.

I aint signing nothing!!!