Sign in with
Your question

shuttle SS51G case cooling mod

Last response: in Overclocking
August 22, 2002 5:25:51 AM

hey,

Im about to put together a new comp and the shuttle SS51G looks really stink'n cool. I love all the stuff ive heard about it, except the fact that it gets really hot. Ive been pondering about a way to cool it down if i do get it and i was wondering what you think of my idea.

My Idea:
on the top of the case, near the back, right over top of the cpu, cut a hole to set up a Enermax Adjustable 12CM fan blowing down on the bare part of the heatsink they have in there and the mobo. Then on each side of the case near the front, on each side of the cdrom/hd bay, cut holes and set up Enermax Thermal Control 8CM fans. This way i will get more air in the case and more air blowing on the cpu and then the 2 thermal fans will help take out the hot air when its hot.

Now, im pretty new to modding. Ive been building comps for like 2 years now but i have no experiance with modding. So i have no idea really on how to cut the holes just mentioned above, some help on that to would be great. I also not sure about the fans i want to use. Is the 120mm a little excessive? also is 2 80mm blowers excessive? Finnaly, do you think this will make it to loud? This one will be in my bedroom so i want some quiet.

Heres what i plan on putting in it:
p4 2.0A
512 meg corsair xms 2700 cas 2
80 gig WD special
radeon 9700 pro
aopen slot loading dvdrom
floppy drive

My plan at first was to get a regular old cheiftec case with the shuttle AS45 GTR. What do you think is a better move?

The Shuttle SS51G - http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduct.asp?description=5...

Heres the list of things im going to get - http://secure.newegg.com/app/WishHistoryReview.asp?posi...

Thank you so much for reading all this and for the help

Matt
August 22, 2002 2:30:25 PM