How much better is Skyrim on GTX 690 than a 670?

Mookeylama

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2012
recently got a 670. so glad i got the 4gb version as i already am using over 2gb vram w/ hires texture packs and don't even have all mods i want yet. but i still notice things that bug me. like most ENBs drop me from 60fps to 40. i see noticeable pause when entering new zones, or when say Monster Mod spawns critters. i turn and look at Riverwood and drop from 60fps to 38 (i'm told the 3D ropes in Static Mesh mod might do that).

i'm fairly new to these open world games, so maybe this kinda thing would happen no matter what gpu i had. but was wondering...would a 690 run Skyrim a whole lot better than a 670? i know i'll get a lot better FPS (around 30-40?). but would it help those zone pauses and fast drops in fps? here are my specs now...

NZXT Crafted Series Phantom ATX Full Tower Gaming
Intel Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz LGA 1155 Processor
ASUS SABERTOOTH Z77 LGA 1155 Z77 ATX Intel Motherb
Corsair 850TXV2
Cooler Master TPC-812 CPU Cooler
EVGA 04G-P4-2673-KR GeForce GTX 670 Superclocked 4GB
Corsair Vengeance Series 16GB DDR3-1600 PC3-12800)
Crucial m4 CT256M4SSD2 256GB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Int
Seagate 2TB 7200rpm SATA

Solution
First of all the 690 is about twice as powerful as the 670 because it has 2 GPUs.

BUT there is absolutely no reason you should ever dip below 60fps in Skyrim with a 670 EVER. One of my 7970s runs that game at constant 60 (literally, even with mods) at no more than 60% usage 1080p and they are roughly equal in power. So don't get a new graphics card I think there is something wrong there. Do you have latest drivers and exactly what mods and settings do you have?

EDIT: also ur using more than 2gb VRAM?? Wow. I run two 7970s usually and the most I have ever seen in that game with all the highres texture pack and hd mods and W.A.T.E.R. and all that is 3200mb, but that is the combined VRAM that is mirrored across both cards, so its really...

iyzik

Distinguished