Quieter cooling???

Bolec

Distinguished
Sep 5, 2002
First of all, I would like to say that my English is really poor (I'm writing from Switzerland), then that I don't know anything about fans, heatsinks, etc, (and you know what? I don't care a damn about them, after all the time I've spent on the Web to find the One!). I'm a simple medicine student, who wants a quiet cooler (to stop hitting my head against the walls, because of the noise), and who doesn't want to burn his PC (I would like to stay under 50 degrees). Help! I have an alpha pal 8045 (known as excellent), but 40db is too much for me! I search something not over 32db, and good enough to cool an XP 2100+. I don't want to overclock my monster, I don't play games which push the processor to its limits, I want Peace when I'm working, when I'm watching a film and when I'm playing to Warcraft (well, after my exams...). Am I asking too much?
Please answer me that there is such a cooler, that I can get it easily, I need something optimistic...
I have: XP 2100+, Asus A7V333, GF3 Ti200, etc, etc.
Just use simple words (you know, I'm a future psychiatrist...). Thanks!

Michel

Tomlin

Distinguished
Aug 29, 2002
One of the quiter fans on this page maybe? They are all db rated for your viewing pleasure.

<A HREF="http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Online_Catalogue_YS_Tech_Fans_60.html" target="_new">http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Online_Catalogue_YS_Tech_Fans_60.html</A>

bum_jcrules

Distinguished
May 12, 2001
I will keep it simple...

Keep your cooler. That is one of the best by far. As many here know that is my favorite. All you really need to do is change the fan. What temperatures are you getting now?

Look for one of these fans... I do not know what is available where you live, so I am giving you a few choices. I am ranking them based on performance in CFM/dBA. (m^3/dBA)

(Name - Model - CFM - dBA)