hartski

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2002
It's my first time to overclock a P4 and would appreciate all the help I can get. I have a P4 2.4GHz CPU, Gigabyte GA-8IEXP mobo, 2 sticks of 512 PC2100 DDR SDRAM and ATI Radeon 8500DV 64MB running on Windows XP Home.

I want to overclock it to at least 2.6GHz but don't wanna use watercooling. Buying a new heatsink and fan for under 50 bucks is acceptable. I currently have a Thermaltake Volcano P4 478 heatsink.

Is using the overclocking software from Gigabyte good enough and safe? Is it the EasyTune 4? How do you overclock anyway? Any guides you know of that can be found on the internet? What other components of the PC besides the CPU should I overclock?

Stiffler

Distinguished
Nov 3, 2001
Which 2.4 is it ? A or B (Is your current is 100 or 133 respectively?)

The only way to overclock the Intel chips is to increase the FSB, which is normally achieved via the BIOS. If it is a PIV (533) then you should be able to overclock to 2.6 quite easily by an increase of the FSB to around 145. If it is only a Northwood A which is at 100FSB then it may be a little more difficult to get the chip to 2.6.

Your current HSF should be sufficient for what you wish to achieve.

Tim

ps: for more information see <A HREF="http://www.overclockers.com" target="_new">http://www.overclockers.com</A>

I can call you Betty, and Betty when you call me... You can call me Al

JasonR

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2002
I used Easy Tune4 in the auto mode and pushed the FSB to a target level (i.e. 133MHz). Then I reverted back to the manual mode and made a note of the changes that were automatically made to the various other system components (AGP, PCI, RAM etc.) Basically, this approach just means you don't have to do the math yourself. Once I knew what I needed for all the various settings, I reset Easy Tune4 back to the normal state it was in prior to pushing the FSB up.