FSB/PCI problem

psykoikonov

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2002
I'm fairly new to OCing and I was wondering if there is way to increase my FSB without pushing my PCI slots anymore. I've gone up to 149/37 and everything is fine except I don't like stressing my pci/agp that much. I downloaded softfsb with hopes up but it wouldn't pick up my CPU and I have NO idea which clock generator I have. On top of that I don't know if it will effect my pci bus. Thanx for any help.

Asus A7S333 SiS745 AGP ver1.09
AMD XP1800+ @ 1667Mhz (FSB 145MHz)
256*2 Samsung DDR333 2-3-3-6
BBA ATI Radeon 8500LE 128MB Cat 2.3 @ 290/290 w/R3D
SB Audigy Platinum
40G Maxtor D740X-6L pm
LG Goldstar 32-10-40 sm
Enermax 430W Whisper PSU
O$=XPpro

:eek: <b>Who needs heatsinks and fans, I have an igloo</b> :eek:

Col_Kiwi

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2002
You can probably get a bit higher.

Some BIOSes will allow you to lock the PCI frequency. This is not a common feature, do not expect it of your board. Its probably not there.

The rule of thumb with high quality cards is until you hit PCI 40MHz you're okay. So you can push another 11MHz out of your FSB most likely, probably more then your CPU can take anyway.

In my experience, if your PCI freq is too high, your system will just refuse to boot, in which case you clear your bios and set it lower.

-Col.Kiwi

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
If you want to use SoftFSB, you'll find the model number of your clock generator written on the clock generator chip, which is normally about .5" x 1" and located within a few inches of the CPU.

<font color=blue>You're posting in a forum with class. It may be third class, but it's still class!</font color=blue>

psykoikonov

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2002
Thanx alot guys. My modem is probably holding me up then. I'm waiting for the cable guy. No I can't lock my pci bus. Does it also affect your HDD bus?

psykoikonov

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2002