Can't run Battlefield 3...?

kohlrabi

Honorable
Oct 2, 2012
Hello, everyone.

I'm having issues when trying to run Battlefield 3 on my computer. Whenever I try to enter the campaign mode, I cannot run the game on a high graphics settings preset without staying under 5 fps. Even on the lowest settings, I cannot surpass 10 fps.

There are a variety of problems with my rig that could be the cause as to why this is so:

CPU: Inter Core 2 Quad Q9550 @2.833 GHz (stock clock) LGA 775
Motherboard: IPIBL-LB LGA 775
RAM: 8 GB (4 x 2GB) DDR2 PC2-6400
Power Supply: 350w PSU made by some obscure brand
Hard Disc Drives: 2 x 500GB 5400 rpm Samsung HDDs
GPU: EVGA nVidia GTX 550 Ti

As you can see, there are various problems with my computer.
- The power supply is inadequate for my needs.
- All of the parts listed, especially the CPU and GPU, are very obsolete.

However, I have been running this for the last two months without any issues. In terms of gaming, I can run Skyrim on ultra settings at a steady 45-60 fps at 1920x1080 with around 80 mods installed, and although I have tried Modern Warfare 3 and League of Legends without any issues, I am sure that any particular information I could have collected from those games would not be of any help.

I've heard that Battlefield 3 is a game highly demanding of CPU processing power, but others with slightly weaker or similar processors seem to be running the game fine.

So... Help?

Solution
Seeing your 350W PSU made me felt uncomfortable by the fact your running 2 HDD and a GT550 with a Quadcore. Maybe you should try an upgrade of 500W. Your CPU is still capable of running all latest games even BF3. Maybe the PSu is the problem why you're getting bad framerates.

venjhammet

Distinguished
Dec 4, 2009