Windows 8 Installation

raman4434

Distinguished
May 4, 2012
Hello,
I have been attempting to upgrade to Windows 8 for the past couple of days and I'm getting tired of it failing time and time again. I would really like to keep all of my setting and files and I really don't want to have to re-install all of my games and programs. At the moment I am running Windows 7 64-bit installed on my SSD. Most of my important stuff is installed on my 2TB HDD so I mainly just use the SSD to boot Windows and store a few programs here and there. Would it be possible to do a clean install on the SSD with Windows 8 and still retain the functionality and programs of my HDD? Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Solution
Check the Logs, as a technician myself let me guide you through how Windows 8 actually installs via that web setup.

1.)Websetup.exe creates this directory %appdata%\local\microsoft\websetup

2.) Once download has finished you will see on drive C:\ that there is now an ESD folder (it's hidden) that's where the download went.

3.) Once you try and upgrade Win 8 take note of 4 important things.
Windows has to be Updated.
Drivers have to be updated (Win 7 Drivers)
Remove your Antivirus
Remove external drives, USBs, and anything else that isn't a mouse, keyboard or monitor.
4.) The Installation Screen before the first reboot is where Win 8 takes note of all the files to save and archive's them to be transferred later and creates its own...
All programs must be installed under the OS. It doesn't matter if they are on the hard drive, you still have to install them or windows 8 wont be able to run then.

I dont get why people make such a big deal about a clean install. Its easy and quick, especially on an SSD. And it makes more sense to start fresh if you are switching the OS

madduckets

Honorable
Nov 12, 2012