Sign in with
Your question

Fan adaptor

Last response: in Overclocking
December 30, 2002 6:38:16 PM

I saw a review recently(can not remember where) and it showed that a 60mm fan at like 30 cfm could cool a heatsink better than an adaptor and a 80mm putting out like 50 cfm. Why??? The reason I ask is because I am wanting to buy the Arkua 7228 heatsink and put a 80mm fan on it using an adaptor. Now the fan I want is a Aerocool 80mm that puts out 51.5 cfm at 31 dba(good numbers). Now in my simple mind(I am an engineer by the way) I see no reason why it will not cool even better(slightly) than the orginal 60mm putting out 38.4 cfm at a whopping 46.7 dba. Now am I wrong??? or just lost?????

More about : fan adaptor

December 30, 2002 8:35:02 PM

My simple mind can't accept it, too :) , although the adaptor take away the fan from the radiator the loss should be minimal.
I read somewehere here about using a grill trick to attach larger fan to a smaller heatsink. Very fresh...
Why don't you just buy a larger heatsink and be happy ;) 

:wink: <font color=green> The second time is always better than the first :wink: </font color=green>
December 31, 2002 9:32:44 AM

I don't get it too... but my guess is that it is because the adapter has a bad aiflow, which with the dead spot in the fan reduces cfm badly.

My PC eats so much money that I'm in 'desperate' need of it to buy PC3500 RAM, help Svol with his OC project!
--- PM me for information.
Related resources
January 2, 2003 3:28:20 AM

The probable reason is that fan adaptors arnt very efficient, they are too shallow, and much of the airflow is squandered with turbulance, the dead spot beneath the fan hub and backpressure.

Adaptors need to be made much deeper and more aerodynamic to be really effective.

<b><font color=purple>[Rik_]</font color=purple> I wonder how many people have made their own phasechange system?
<font color=blue>[LHGPooBaa]</font color=blue> I get phasechange whenever i eat a hot chillie :lol:  </b>