new p4 2.53, seems way to hot at stock speed.

williamc

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2002
I just put together a new pc i was hoping to OC soon. However, the MSI 845 PE motherboard reports that the idle temp is 50C and it reached 64C after playing Warcraft 3 for 10 minutes. This is using the stock HSF...does the stock HSF just completely suck or is the motherboard reporting odd temps or do i have a bad cpu? Any ideas? i'm not good with converting C to F but my room was about 88F at the time. I have one intake and one output fan on the case. The case temp didnt budge, it stayed at a nice 88F, same as the rest of my room.

Why the huge 14C swing in temps between idle and a game?

Windows is like a house of cards... One wrong move and it all comes crashing down.

LtBlue14

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2002
that does sound too high even for the stock hsf
it sounds like it may not be properly seated, and i've never used the thermal pad that i'm assuming came on the bottom of the sink, but it's probably not gonna be great
it's not a problem with your cpu
if you're using decent thermal paste (namely, arctic silver, or anything not white..) and you applied it properly, then the problem might be bad sensors
my cpu used to get really hot but it was because a) it was the summer and b) i had bad case flow
but you insist that case temps are good so...
try reseating the heatsink, if it's still the same then it's the sensors

--------------

<A HREF="http://forumz.tomshardware.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=faq&notfound=1&code=1" target="_new">mubla otohp eht ni ecaf ruoy teg</A>

williamc

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2002
yea i just went out and bought a nice zalman copper HSF setup and it didnt make a damn bit of difference in what the sensors read, i ahve a feeling its bad sensors... how this new one could possible by the same as the stock...i have no idea, seems impossible to me.