A7N8X D & 1800+ overclocking potential (newbie)

pitsi

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2003
First let me say that I am new to overclocking. Alhtough I work with computers a lot and I built systems for myself and my friends, I've never tried to overclock a processor.

Here is what I'm thinking. I am going to buy during this week an Athlon 1800+ (TCWO.com hasn't got 1700+ in stock) and an Asus A7N8X Deluxe board. Now let's suppose I match this cpu/mobo with Corsair PC2700 XMS memory. How far could I overclock my processor? I realise that the multiplier is set by default at 11.5 x 133 = 1.53GHz

Will I be able to change the FSB all the way up to 11.5 x 166 = 1.9GHz and if yes, will the performance of my processor be the same as Athlon XP 2200+? And at what cost? Will I need extra cooling or the CPU temp is only affected by increasing the multiplier? Also, will I be able to change the multiplier? Is there something specific I should ask for when buying the processor? (e.g. I've read all over this forum about Tbred-b) Please let me know what would be the overclocking potential of this system.

One last question. I've been reading about increasing vcore voltage when increasing the multiplier in order to keep your system stable. How much could somebody increase the vcore voltage before burning up his CPU?

As I said before, I am really new at this and any help would be really helpful. Thanks for your patience!

Ntxawg

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2003
do you have a newsgroup reader? if you do check out
alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus

or go to http://www.amdforums.com/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=8 its an asus forum on amdmb.com

I have the same board you do with the xp1800+ but its not the tbred. I dont know if its the bios or not but I can't seem to get it to go up to 2000+ highest I hit is 1900+

however on my old soyo dragon plus the cpu did 2000+ easily so not sure whats up with that. In anycase you might do better asking about this on those forum.