Sp00nLude

Distinguished
Oct 22, 2002
Hi
I am a newbie at overclocking and I was wondering how I safely overclock my geforce4 ti4200 128MB yet not sacrafice stability? I heard that powerstrip is a good program to use but I don't know what to do next. If anyone could show me a guide as to how to overclock this card it would be greatly appreciated. TIA!

error_911

Distinguished
Nov 10, 2002
well all you need to do is incread the memory and core speed as much as you can untill you experience some stability issues... try increasing by 5 or 10 Mhz increments till you hit a problem, then cut down a little and try it out again... remember though that good card cooling and system ventialltion is key to good overclocking

<b>people are only idiots when they don't realize - when they do it just gets funnier, like a dog chasing its own tail, or like george bush's public address(es)</b>

Sp00nLude

Distinguished
Oct 22, 2002
Hi, yes i forgot to mention I am gonna replace the fan with a thermaltake soon. I was wondering what utility to use? and what programs to run to do benchmarks that will tell me how much ive gained from OCing? Does GTU (geforce tweak utility support new driver versions like 4.0.7.2?

Thanks

error_911

Distinguished
Nov 10, 2002
Well I use RivaTuner and I think it works easiest and best, but use whichever software you like. As for a benchmark you can either use SiSoftware Sandra (I use SiSoft Sandra Pro)... its a burn-in test, stresses your systems components. You can also use Mad Onion's 3dMark2001 or 3DMark2003... this is probably the most popular video-card benchmark.. allows you to compare your score online to others as well. They also offer PCMark, which benchmark's your PC for comparative purposes as well. About GTU, it should support the newer drivers but I'm not positive.

<b>people are only idiots when they don't realize - when they do it just gets funnier, like a dog chasing its own tail, or like george bush's public address(es)</b>

Sp00nLude