Sign in with
Your question

cutting bridges on Tbred w/ 9V

Last response: in Overclocking
March 19, 2003 5:00:42 AM

Ok, I'm new to overclocking and all, but considering I don't have the money for a new XP2800+, and for ~$70 I can possibly get a 1700 to overclock to roughly the same speed, I'm willing to give it a shot. I recently purchased an XP1700 TBred B for my a7n8x (should arrive monday). I plan on overclocking it to at least 1729 MHz (2100+). From all the posts I've read, it seems I need to cut the 5th L3 bridge to allow my mobo to use the higher multiples. Additionally, I realize I need to set a new default mult. I was thinking I will set it at 13X, which is 1729 so it will POST. I think that's all I have to do... If I'm missing something let me know...

Here's the thing, I've read you can cut the bridges with a razor blade OR you can "short" the bridges using a 9-volt battery and some electrodes. I have heard success stories from both sides, but I have heard horror stories as well. I know whatever I do will void my warranty, and if I damage it, I'm out $70. Oh well, I'll risk it. I would just like to choose the safest option.

Does anyone have experience using either of the two methods to cut the bridges? If so, which method is best?

Thanks

XP1700 B w/ Noise Control Silverado HSF
ASUS A7N8X
2x256MB OCZ EL PC3500 DDR
300 Watt PSU
45G IBM 7200

More about : cutting bridges tbred

March 19, 2003 9:25:36 AM

I did the knife method, though I just used my KERSHAW pocket knife :D 

I ran the point of the knife over the bridges (did two at the same time) 2 times with a little bit of pressure. It worked first time.

I had never done this before, and it worked pretty good.

Water cooling is for the weak. Get liquid nitrogen.
March 19, 2003 4:10:51 PM

I heard about the 9V trick but I thought it was a joke. If you try it let us know if it works. (Do you have any links to accounts failed or successful?)