Some PC games won't start on my Computer

Hello,

Lately, some of my games have not been working and I'm not quite sure why, it's all just happened all of a sudden. I have somewhat an idea of what possibly could be the problem but I'm no expert on computer.

At first, let me just say, my computer isn't the best for gaming but it does (or has) run games that I like to play.

I bought a game called War Z recently but it did not work very well on my computer. I had very low frames and a lot of lag spikes. My friend told me to overclock my video card but I wasn't too sure on what that meant but he talked me through it. I have an ATI Radeon graphics card so I used the catalyst control centre to overclock. He told me to unlock the overclock section and press this "auto" button at the top. So I let it do it's thing until it finished. When it finished, my computer did not detect my video card at all. During the overclock process, my computer did make a lot of noise (I'm guessing it was the video card) and was wondering what actually was happening.

I decided to restart my computer for the hope that my graphics card hadn't died. It was alive. So I went to try War Z again and noticed a little difference which made it a lot more playable.

Days went past and I came across something about overclocking on a forum and read it which said that overclocking can reduce the lifetime of the component. As soon as I saw this, I went back onto the catalyst control centre and slid both the overlock sliders back to the bottom were they where before (although I can't relock the overclock section so I'm not sure if my video card is still classed as overclocked). Even though I have moved the sliders back, I was expecting war z not to work as good anymore but surprisingly it still was.