How much VRAM will I need to mod Skyrim?

Pmckenna

Honorable
Sep 24, 2012
Hi,

I'm about to buy a GTX 670 but I'd first like to know how much VRAM I'll need to play Skyrim with mods such as texture pack combiner, detailed faces and maybe an ENB installed?

Also, will the mods installed hurt my FPS? Or is it unaffected until I start hitting the VRAM limit of my card?

Thanks,

EDIT: I'll be playing at 1080p on my tv btw.

Pmckenna

Honorable
Sep 24, 2012
Really? I've heard about people running upwards of 3gb in some cases, especially with an ENB.

I'm asking you guys because this is my first time building a PC and I'd prefer not to spend the extra £70 on a 4gb 670 if I can run all the mods I'd like with 2gb.

Also, it seems to be impossible to get a definite answer on VRAM usage with these mods.. Seems to be anywhere from 1.8 - 3.8 usage.

Caspase

Honorable
Jun 12, 2012
At 1080p 2 gb is fine. I had a crapton of mods and the max I saw was 1.7. If you want 1440p or more or want to use every mod known to man then maybe 4 gb.

Pmckenna

Honorable
Sep 24, 2012

Hi, what mods were you using exactly? Because the texture pack combiner I mentioned is most definitely a crapton of mods. If I don't use this, I'll probably use S.T.E.P (Skyrim Total Enhancement Project) Anyone used it before?

Thanks, :D

Caspase

Honorable
Jun 12, 2012
I had the hd texture pack with the water physics and a bunch of others. Cant tell you which exactly because I would change frequently xD but like 15-20 active in the mod manager

I'm kind of looking for mods to add to my skyrim as well. Would be interested to know which people find better looking / less agressive on VRAM - the 2kHD textures or the STEP?

one thing I can tell you about ENBs is the higher your resolution the more ram those will need in order to run post processing.