Intel CPU overheating

rbear

Distinguished
Apr 14, 2003
I have a Intel MoBo (D845PEBT2)with an Intel 3.06Ghz CPU. I am using the Intel heatsink/fan that was included with the CPU. I applied a small amount of Artic Silver thermal compound between the two. At room temperature, my CPU runs roughly at 37C/100F with the upper threshold set for 68C/154F. My system has always run fine until the other day when I started playing "Freelancer". I now find my CPU hitting these upper thresholds and rudely shutting off my computer. What can I do to prevent this from happening in the future? Is my system running high to begin with at 37C? Is there a better heatsink/fan I should look into buying? I would certainly appreciate some advice and/or suggestions.

Teq

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2003
Intel's heatsinks are usually good enough. 37c is a good temperature, in a normally warm room (20-22c)

If you haven't already...You should probably install a software to monitor the temperature... I like MBPROBE because it puts a very inobtrusive icon in the task tray with the temp in it.

Now about the Arctic Silver...

When you put it on did you remove all of the heat transfer material from the heatsink and clean it up real good? (hospital clean, with alcohol)

Similarly did you clean the CPU as well? (again hospital clean)

Did you apply the AS per the instructions on their website?
<A HREF="http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_silver_instructions.htm" target="_new">http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_silver_instructions.htm</A>

Did you check the fan?
I had a bad fan on one heatsink, it spun but didn't get up to full speed, very low torque. Replacing it helped a lot.

And finally.. are you shure the heatsink is seated correctly with all 4 mounting clips properly engaged?