Why are hardware requirements going up?

nix327

Honorable
Nov 25, 2012
Hi guys! :hello: I'm new to TH and mostly a noob as far as technical things are concerned. I was wondering if there has been any significant improvements in the softwares used for making games. Like in the hardware segment the Intel 22nm CPUs that use less power and offer more performance or the new AMD GPUs 7750 and 7770 which offer more performance/watt. So has there been a similar step forward in the software side of things? :heink:
The hardware requirements for games are going up and not coming down. Is the gaming and hardware industry working together to push the market into a higher price segement? or am i wrong? Can the efforts put into producing realistic graphics not be used for improving the overall quality of the game? Would you guys choose a game with exceptional graphics and ordinary gameplay over a game with ordinary graphics and exceptional gameplay? What are your thoughts?

Solution
That's a tricky question to answer because it's difficult to quantify visual quality. One (very crude) method would be to plot it against polygon count, but that doesn't factor in texture resolution, lighting/particle/transform effects etc or place any kind of weighting on these factors. Considering the extent performance per watt has improved, it's a pretty safe bet that quality per watt has also improved.
I think I'd like exceptional both :) I look at modern games today and I can say honestly that I'm very happy with the current standard of graphics and don't feel a desperate need for more realism. However, I don't doubt I would have said the same thing in 2004, and even in 2000 (the original Unreal Tournament and Quake 3 seemed incredible to me!). Looking back now at that standard of graphics, I'm very grateful that developers have continued to advance graphical realism even if it means spending money on an upgrade every few years.