Assassin's Creed 3 Low FPS/Stuttering

Status
Not open for further replies.

P Lash

Honorable
Dec 1, 2012
Hello,
I just started playing Assassin's Creed 3 and I'm getting pretty bad performance and low FPS (15-20) in Boston, to the point where playing through Boston has become quite painful. :( Other areas of the game, however, like the Frontier and the Homestead, are working quite fine. I change the settings, lower the resolution, no difference at all. Even tried getting the latest ATI drivers 12.11 beta, no difference.
I googled this issue, seems like its pretty common, but I can't find a solution for it.

I don't get why, because all the previous AC's have ran perfectly on the highest settings, plus other games like Crysis, GTA 4, Far Cry 3, Sleeping Dogs etc are running quite well with no issues on my rig.

Config is-
ATI Radeon 6770 2 GB GDDR5
3 GB RAM
3.2 Ghz Core 2 Duo
Windows 7

Please help.

It's nothing regarding your system specs. The game is just currently unoptimized and everyone, even with their high end GPUs are facing this issue.
I'm facing this problem too, on entering Boston. The game just drops to an FPS that makes the game unplayable.

You're going to have to wait for Ubisoft to release the patch for the game. Otherwise, there's nothing much you can do.

stu6188

Honorable
Dec 3, 2012
My spec:
i7 2600k OC 4.5GHz
GTX 570 1.25GB DDR 5 OC 850 2100
8GB RAM 1600
120GB SSD
Water cooled and with lots of fans my gpu doesnt go above 65 degrees and my cpu 70. (No heat Issues)

AC3 Settings:
1080p 60
EVERYTHING on lowest settings ie. AA etc.

FPS:
Average moves erratically between 35 and 60. Lots of jumping/image tare/general glitching.

Summary:
AC3 is really not optimized at ALL. Im running windows 8 which is unlikely to help but I have used all the lastest drivers, and my best results have been using nvidias beta versions for 8.

Help: