Sign in with
Your question

Computer Freezes Playing Far Cry 3 and Battlefield 3

Last response: in Video Games
December 5, 2012 1:40:18 AM

Hey Guys, I've been having an issue lately. Ever since I replaced my Asus P5N-D motherboard with an Asus P5G41T-M LX Plus(my old board broke) Battlefield 3 has been freezing. I will play for between 5 minutes and 1 hour and then my computer will freeze up entirely, whatever audio was playing at the time will loop, and I will have to hard reboot my computer. I read a forum post suggesting that I use MSI Afterburner to underclock my GPU, this seemed to fix my problem with battlefield, although I haven't tested extensively. I started playing Far Cry 3 today and It had the same problem as battlefield, full computer freezes in roughly the same time frame. This time underclocking with Afterburner did not help. I played with a utility logging my CPU and GPU temps. The CPU never went above 48 and the GPU never went above 74. I thought maybe my vcore was too low, so I tried raising it. this still did not fix my problem. I play a significant number of other games and have never had this problem with any other game.

Specs:
Motherboard: ASUS P5G41T-M LX Plus
CPU: Intel Core2Quad Q9550 stock clock
GPU: Asus GTX 560 TI
PSU: Corsair 750W
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB
December 9, 2012 8:17:40 PM

Hi, I've also been getting this issue with Far Cry 3.

Specs are:

3930k at stock
Asus Rampage IV Extreme
8GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133Mhz
MSI GTX 580 Lightning
Corsair AX1200
Fully up-to-date Windows 7 HP 64

I have reverted everything to stock clocks, and even tried raising Vcore and RAM voltage. I still get random freezes. The image that was being displayed at the time of the crash is frozen on screen and I get an audio "buzzing" sound/audio looping. All my drivers are up-to-date. I am currently using Geforce beta driver 310.70.

What driver are you using OP?
m
l
December 9, 2012 8:18:54 PM