Sign in with
Your question

Best watercooling solution?

Last response: in Overclocking
June 30, 2003 4:07:39 AM

I am getting the Thermaltake Xaser III v2000a case and am considering going with water cooling over air cooling. I mean after I buy the slk-900u with a nice fan and thermal paste, I am up around $90. So I figured I could go with water cooling for not too much more. What are you opinions on what the best water cooling kits are? Should I go with the AquariusII by Thermaltake kit since I am getting the Xaser III case? Do you know how this compares to other companies kits out there? Any help would be appreciated..

Plus can you sort of give me an idea of the pros and cons of water cooling versus air cooling. I keep my pc on 24/7 so I don't know if water cooling would have a problem with that. Plus I am afraid if the water pump went on me I would melt my cpu, mobo, or whatever else. So you can see that I am totally new to water cooling and I haven't ever built a system with it. So if you could also let me know how hard it is to built I would appreciate it. Thanks guys..

NEW SYSTEM:
P4 2.8c (800fsb), Abit IS7, Kingston HyperX PC3500 (2 x 512mb), IBM Deskstar (60 gig @ 7200rpm)
OLDER SYSTEM:
P3 850mhz (100fsb), Asus CUV4X, 620mb Micron PC133, WD 40gig 7200rpm

More about : watercooling solution

June 30, 2003 5:14:17 PM

With HSF you have the chance the fan stops, with watercooling the chance the pump stops. But with a thermal protection mechanism on your mobo you can prevent damage with both.

Watercooling (if you got a good kit) is way more efficient then aircooling... you will get lower temps with less noise.

I can't recommend and kit because I always build DIY watercooling which can be very cheap.

My CPU fan spins so fast that it creates a wormhole :eek: 
July 2, 2003 9:42:00 PM

here's an article you may want to <A HREF="http://www.overclockers.com/articles766/" target="_new">check out</A>