Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Far Cry 3 AA problems

Last response: in Video Games
December 16, 2012 4:26:17 PM

So I'm new to the whole PC gaming world. Just built my first PC, and got Far Cry 3 with my GPU.
The only problem is, is when I turn on AA (4x), small boxes appear in the middle of the screen, usually on foliage. The game looks pretty decent otherwise. I'm running a Sapphire Radeon HD 7870 2 GB card (I don't know what other specs I would need to tell).
Picture:

I'm confused. Any help, please?

More about : cry problems

December 16, 2012 4:29:20 PM

Also running at Ultra settings, turned off FXAA processing(?) because the jaggedies... Everything else is at default settings I believe.
Score
December 16, 2012 4:38:46 PM

Looks like the card memory is faulty. I'd contact the place you've bought it from and have them exchange the card.
Score
Related resources
December 16, 2012 4:44:26 PM

This doesn't happen on any of my other games with AA on, just Far Cry. And here I thought it working great.
Score
December 16, 2012 4:51:06 PM

It will start happening more frequently as time goes by. Far Cry 3 was just using up the memory other games didn't reach. I'm telling you - that screen distortion is the fault of a dying graphics card. It's better to change it sooner than later.
Score
December 16, 2012 4:57:11 PM

Should I contact the seller (Newegg) or the company (Sapphire) about replacing it?
Score
December 16, 2012 5:00:31 PM

Newegg if 30 days didn't pass since you've bought it. Sapphire otherwise.
Score
December 16, 2012 5:08:45 PM

Alright, thanks for the help. I guess I'm gonna have to go replace it, and see if that works. It's weird because Witcher 2 and Metro 2033 haven't had any problems yet...
Score
December 16, 2012 5:13:18 PM

Okay. Don't forget to report the results.
Score
December 16, 2012 8:21:58 PM

theer is a update for my gpu it was writtenn better perfomance with aa under the changes u should download that on the amd site