bad overclocker....

potentevil

Distinguished
Jul 27, 2003
hey guys, im just getting into overclocking and im having some problems. ill give you my system specs then tells you whats going wrong...some help would be greatly appreciated!

Athlon XP 2400 266fsb 2Ghz
Soyo KT400 dragon ultra platinum
512MB Corsair PC2700 RAM
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
80GB WD
350W PSU

ok...so i started overclocking last night...i set my DRAM clock to 166Mhz to take advantage of my PC2700 (333Mhz) RAM. I disabled ECC checking because i heard it slows you down. I enabled video ram cachable(i think thats what it was, i was following a guide...http://www.tweaktown.com/document.php?dType=guide&dId=376) I was playing aroudn with my fsb and got it up to around 180 before i started crashing...so i dropped it, and started playing with the multiplyer and voltage...everything went fine and i was benchmarking at 2.4-2.5ghz, but it wasnt very stable so i brought it down. anyway, from there on, i kept having to lower it and lower it to get it stable. now i cant even boot if its over 2.1ghz. o, and another thing...somwhere along the line i started getting this wierd delay when i boot windows...i cant run any system checking utilities (sandra, wcpuid, control panel --> system, hardware monitor) until about 2 minuets after i log into windows at which point the HDD shows activity, the floppy drive shows activity, and the LAN icon appears on the task bar. after that, i can run any system utilities and any ones i had tried to open before open at that point. this happened rarely...then randomly...now it happens everytime i boot, even after the bios has been cleared and the settings are at default. urggg, im so frusterated...if someone could PLEASE help it would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

.:: 3 C |-| 0 ::.

scottchen

Splendid
Jun 3, 2003
What's ur cooling, and what's your vcore at?