Sign in with
Your question

Poor Far Cry 3 Performance?

Last response: in Video Games
December 20, 2012 1:15:10 AM

I realize it is a very demanding game, but this seems kind of low to me. I generally maintain 60 FPS, but that is at 1600 x 900 on medium. I think I should be able to do at least high at 1920 x 1080 with my overclocked 7870.. What do you think is happening? Or do those frame rates make sense.

Thanks,

More about : poor cry performance

December 20, 2012 6:10:24 AM

i have a 7950 OC and i get about 45fps on average at 1920 x 1080 on max settings. Personally i think your frame rates are fine, but I guess check your GPU load. If it is less than 80% then i think you may need a new CPU. Im not too tech savvy so somebody else might have a better answer for you
m
l
December 20, 2012 6:24:07 AM

Leave MSAA off. This way you can play at ultra setting with a great framerate. I would be weird if my GTX 660 beat your Radeon 7870?

I get about 45-50 fps in average at 1920x1080.

Just look here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BRnKfQaVVwM

If you don't got MSAA on then you should consider updating your CPU or RAM, if you still get bad fps. Far Cry 3 is on of the first games I've seen where it's recommended to have 8GB of RAM.
m
l
Related resources
December 20, 2012 2:01:02 PM

I have an i7 and 16GB of RAM. I doubt either of those are causing problems.

I'll try disabling MSAA.

Edit: Oh, my signature is being glitchy again. That's why you guys couldn't see my other specs.
m
l
December 22, 2012 10:54:37 AM

man i`m running 4 way sli 670`s with an i7 3770k and i`m lucky to see 60 fps on 5760x1080 there`s deffo an issue in the game or drivers, all my cards are 40% usage with everythin on ultra. i`m waiting on a fix, PIA to be honest was looking forward to it aswell, fps dips are quite bad at some points aswell even with it turned down to low.

Davie
m
l
December 24, 2012 3:41:50 PM