When you up/downgrade your Windows OS, you are given two options. One, you can delete everything off of your hard drive and start fresh. Or two, you can keep all of your files and settings and they will be applied to the newly installed OS.
So to answer your question, all of your files/programs will be fine and you should proceed with the install.
One thing to remember though is to make sure you upgrade your drivers to W7 version.