Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Windows 7 Home Premium Freeze/ Crash During Game Play

Tags:
Last response: in Windows 7
November 2, 2010 10:51:14 AM

Hello,

I'm new to Tom's Hardware and I'm having a few issues that maybe you can all help me out on:

My computer crashes on EVERY game I own on steam ranging from Modern Warfare 2 - Bad Company 2 - Counter Strike: Source as well as Lord of the Rings Online and League of Legends.

I have tried everything ranging from memtest86 to switching out components but nothing seems to work to keep my machine from crashing.

It used to crash with my old XFX 4890 so I bought a new 5870. and I ran memtest86 about 3 passes or so with no error. So that weeds out the video card and memory.

In the beginning of the month I bought a new GA-890fxa-ud5 motherboard, 2x 4 GB Ripjaws, Sapphire 5870 2 GB, Corsair H50 cooler, and a Coolermaster HAF 932 case to bring my gaming rig back from the stone ages...

My old components include a 40 GB Intel SSD, a 500 GB Seagate Barracuda, and a 1000W Rosewill Power supply.

My computer does not make mini dumps even when the mini dump settings are correct however I do get a Kernel-Power Critical Error that I am assuming comes from me restarting my computer after it does not restart itself.

All drivers are up to date and so is the BIOS (F5)...

Please help!!
November 2, 2010 11:10:09 AM

I would recheck your drivers this is often the issue. Also check your hard drive for errors. This could be causing the problem. help to do this can be found here - http://www.mypchealth.co.uk/GuideTests.php

might be worth checking the power supply too ... a faulty one can cause strange issues.
Score
November 2, 2010 1:29:43 PM

I have checked and rechecked my drivers. My HDDs are all OK according to SMART status and HDTune. Now really its up to the PSU and still possibly my Memory. Grrrr this is so frustrating. Is there an easy way to test if its the PSU besides buying a new one?
Score
Related resources