Overwhelmed noob

Onehouse

Distinguished
Oct 14, 2003
Hey all,

I am planning on building a new computer for myself. I started with buying a graphic card. Redeon 9800 pro ICE-Q.

Now I am looking into the other things. I am leaning towards a P4 3.0 Ghz and one of the new ASUS mobos P4C800-E deluxe.

I am thinking of the OZR 4000 DDR memory. The case will most surely be an Antec case with a psu around 400. There was one with a psu of 380. Im not sure that will be enough.

Those are the things Im going to buy. I have the rest like cd/dvd and harddrives from other computers. I heard alot about overclocking and when I found this board I got stunned about this guy who made his P4 2.4 Ghz run at like 3.5 Ghz.

I though that was cool as hell so now I want to overclock my computer also after I got it built up. I am not a total noob and I understand things will get hot. So I started to read up and I got overwhelmed about so much things there is one must know in order to do these things.

I found readings about fans, silver liquids, water cooling and all kinds of things. I got no clue where to start and how to figure out what I need.

Anyone feel like kicking a noob in the right direction please do so.

I need help =)

Regards
Onehouse

Fallen

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2002