Sign in with
Your question

Athlon XP2500 overclocked, reliability Q's

Last response: in Overclocking
November 4, 2003 1:17:01 PM

I should start by saying that I'm brand new to overclocking and the computer I set up last night is only the second I've ever built. Normally, I wouldn't risk overclocking because I'm a photographer and have to rely on my computer all the time. But the 2500 seems to have a good reputation for safe and stable OC'ing that I thought it might be worth trying. I'd like to describe my system and what I did, to find out what I should watch out for, etc. in terms of possible data corruption, instability, etc. I tried to do my homework and build my system "by the book" so to speak according to what I've learned surfing the web for the last week. System:

Antec Sonata case with stock 120mm rear fan plus 120mm front fan
Asus A7N8X Deluxe MoBo
Athlon XP 2500
Thermalright SK800U, using Ceramique grease, with Panaflo 32CFM fan (Panaflo 39 CFM fan arriving later this week, then I'll swap)
Crucial PC3200 RAM, one 512MB stick (another 512MB stick on its way soon)
Matrox G550 card (I'm not a gamer at all and have used Matrox cards for years because I love the 2-D quality with photographs)
Maxtor 6Y120MO 120GB SATA 1.5 hard drive (I'll also add my ATA Maxtor 80GB drive into this unit once I've finished testing it)

I wanted to bring my FSB to 200 to match the RAM and was going to work my way up to that slowly, testing as I went to 170, 180, 190 then 200. Unfortunately, my bios only allows a jump from 166 to 200 - nothing in between. So right now I'm running at a bus speed of 200 with the normal 11X multiplier at 1.65 volts. I'm wondering if it would be wise to bring the voltage up a touch to 1.7 just in case...???