Sign in with
Your question

PS3 slim 160 gb really loud noise

Last response: in Video Games
January 12, 2013 4:43:20 AM

I just recieved my new ps3 slim 160 gb console today from bestbuy.com, it keeps making what sounds like a computer booting (beeping) , mixed with someone sawing wood (scratching), when its loading or starting up a game. im new to video gaming and was wondering if its supposed to be like that, or if something is wrong, because as i said, its BRAND NEW.
January 12, 2013 6:36:46 AM

Sounds like its probably just the hard drive spinning, mine does that all the time, when it boots and loads games etc. which is perfectly normal :) 
m
l
January 13, 2013 12:12:56 AM

It should not be making those noises. I would take it back ASAP. I think you can return them directly to the store if one is close by. I have a PS3 slim since they came out and it does not make any such noise. It should make noises similar to a laptop or small PC at the very most.
m
l
Related resources
January 13, 2013 12:19:24 AM

jay2tall said:
It should not be making those noises. I would take it back ASAP. I think you can return them directly to the store if one is close by. I have a PS3 slim since they came out and it does not make any such noise. It should make noises similar to a laptop or small PC at the very most.

I've had 3 ps3's and I almost guarantee its just his hdd spinning, but yeah let him do what he wants.. take it back if you can, just to make sure
m
l
January 13, 2013 8:21:17 AM

I only own an Xbox 360 although my cousin has a PS3 and it does not make any of those weird sounds, I would recommend you get the console checked to prevent any future problems.
m
l
February 20, 2013 8:25:34 AM

I would like to spread a message : The new PS3 Super Slim is HORRIBLE! Don't waste your money on that! I was heavily dissapointed with it.
m
l
February 20, 2013 1:35:25 PM