Where to learn about computers?

G

Hello, I'm new here. Where can I find the best place for learning about computers? Hardware and software... I'm quite a noob, by the way..

PCKid777

Distinguished
Aug 1, 2005

I built my first system almost a decade ago - by reading many of the FAQs on the forums at THG, hardware reviews, and system builder articles and forum posts.

Stick around here for a bit and you can learn a lot. :)

G

I will stick around here. :)

I cannot be more spesific, because I have no clue at all. I need to learn <i>everything</i>. :) What site is the best one for a complete noob?

ksampanna

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2010
I recommend read reviews of products like CPUs (processors) & GPUs (graphic cards) & other hardware you might find interesting. You'll slowly get to know about the terminologies, the way these things work, etc. Subscribing to a pc tech magazine available in your region also is a good idea. The magazines have regular "know-how" sections which explain about the various components of computers, etc.

G

Thank you so much! I will follow your recommendations, and hopefully I will learn. :) I appriciate all of your answers.

Asking questions is always a good idea. :)

I'm a total software noob too. Hardware is just so much better. :D

How 'noob' are you? We can help provide some specific terms that might help you understand what the reviewer is talking about.

I'm supposing you know what a CPU and GPU and RAM is etc. If you don't, feel free to ask.

amnotanoobie

Distinguished
Aug 27, 2006

What specific part about computers do you want to lean?

Do you want to learn about how programs work? Or do you want to know how to make programs?