Worst virus known to man

zero2new

Distinguished
Jul 16, 2010
Its not crashing yet. but i swear this virus is all over me what ever i do, this is my first time having a harddrive over 40gigs. running 1000g 6mb/s 64 cache so i supposed it could manifest with ease.
It started off simple, the little random clicks, then process explorer stopped working (a registry was deleted). just recently ive mostly been unable to start programs or to turn them off. everytime i look for an anti-v the screen goes white and freezes up most apps (coincidently my DVI moniter died recently in the same manner off my old hd). im running off a second user account with little liege.

I dont know where to start, but info would be appreciated.
every anti-v i use doesnt detect anything. nortan360, security essentials, Vipre, pc tools, trend micro, avast!
im running win7 64 bit

ohiou_grad_06

Distinguished
I can concur with the other guys. Hard drive clicking is NOT good. Run the virus scans, but first back up all important files, and be prepared to get a new drive. Usually clicking means you might have the bearings going out of the drive, or could be the heads crashing into the hard disk, not good. If you don't detect anything in the malware scans though, I'd say run a disk defrag. Auslogics disk defrag is ok, and free. Much faster than the windows defrag too. Also, run chkdisk, go to computer, right click on C: drive, properties, under system tools, run the error checking tool, and have it check and attempt repair of bad sectors.

LePhuronn

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2007
Personally I wouldn't run any more checks on the drive because you're just wasting operating hours.

That drive is going to die, and going to die soon - get EVERYTHING you want to keep off of it now before you lose the lot. Then feel free to run checks.

Also, turn on SMART monitoring in the BIOS as that may well give you a message or two on boot if the drive is failing.