Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Screen tearing when gaming?

Last response: in Video Games
March 9, 2013 9:09:07 PM

Hello. First of all I'm not very tech savvy so please keep it simple :p 

My graphics card is GeForce GTX 560. I'm using an LG monitor. I think the cord to connect my moniter to my gfx card is VGA, but my card only has I think they're DVI ports? So I have this converter thing to connect them. I'm not sure if this could be the reason.

But anyway, when my computer is on and not running a game, it is perfectly fine. For example, when I'm on the desktop, there are no lines.

This all changes whenever I open up ANY game. As soon as a game is running, there are these horizontal flickering lines accross the screen. Even when I open up the browser, they are still there. But when I close out of the game, they are gone, and everything is normal again.

So obviously having a game open is the problem. Also, this is a problem because it is extremely annoying and effects my gaming experience.

I just want to know how to fix this because it's annoying me so much. I just want my games to be clear and more enjoyable.

Please halp me ;c

More about : screen tearing gaming

March 9, 2013 9:34:12 PM

May be a problem with your video card drivers, try updating them, and if your monitor has hdmi, I would recommend an hdmi cord.

Because sometimes vga and dvi can be a pain in the butt
March 9, 2013 11:40:46 PM

already tried updating driver ..and i dont think my monitor has hdmi D;
Related resources
March 10, 2013 1:31:09 AM

have you tried using vsync?
March 10, 2013 1:38:19 AM

already tried updating driver ..and i dont think my monitor has hdmi D;
March 10, 2013 1:40:08 AM

yes i've tried v-sync in nvidia control and also in-game settings ..its not just the game that screen tears.. its my computer whenever a game is running

even my browser has horizontal blinking lines right now because i have a game running in the background

???? :( 
March 10, 2013 1:41:30 AM