Increasing fan RPM

chikit

Distinguished
Jul 1, 2005
Is it possible to increase rpm and therefore get more CFM? How is one able to increase power. I have limited knowledge on power, power supplies and rails. Anyway, can a fan controller increase the rpm of a fan (beyond its capability)? or does it only allow it to reach its maximum rpm sugegsted by the manufacturer. A lot of the fan controllers allow a max wattage of 18-20 per fan. What does this mean? For e.g a 80mm case fan it says on the label 12V DC and 0.13A. 12V x 0.13A = 1.56 Watts i know that much. So does that mean the fan maximum wattage is 1.56W but i can use the fan controller to up it use to 18W? Can we increase the voltage beyond 12volts for the fan?

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
No, you can't go backwards. Your wall outlet for example allows 1800W, but you can't magically turn your 40W bulb into an 1800W bulb, no risk of blowing the bulb trying because it simply can't be done: the voltage is regulated.

12v is the highest DC line in your computer, 12v is what your fan is designed to run at. If it were a 5v fan, you could speed it up with 12v.

If you'd like to modify your power supply to feed a negative 12v line to the black wire and a positive 12v line to the hot wire, you could get a 24v difference, but it's not worth the effort.

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>
<font color=red>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to an ego as large as Crashman's!</font color=red>

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
Maybe!

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>
<font color=red>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to an ego as large as Crashman's!</font color=red>

pokemon

Distinguished
Oct 8, 2004
Resistors (I believe)
Only downwards though.