How to find replacement bios for a NEW Dell Optiplex 780 ?

I have found a bug in Dell's Bios. It will not allow me to boot to MSDOS. I need to do so, as I program a lot of proprietary software .

I get an error message saying "Windows file, HAL.DLL is corrupt."

That is ridiculous, as I am, trying to boot MSDOS 6.22, not Windows, from a SONY USB Floppy A:/ Drive. I have been a DOS BASIC programmer for many years.

Can you help me?

Sincerely,

BOB$$$
10 answers Last reply
More about find replacement bios dell optiplex
  1. You dont need a new BIOS, sounds like you need to reinstall DOS onto the floppy drive. Does it work in other computers? You may need ot change the boot order so it wont boot of the hard drive that is inside the computer (or just remove it)
  2. ^+1
  3. Snipergod87 said:
    You dont need a new BIOS, sounds like you need to reinstall DOS onto the floppy drive. Does it work in other computers? You may need ot change the boot order so it wont boot of the hard drive that is inside the computer (or just remove it)

Thanks for the reply.

I have done the DELL <F12> chooser "Select Startup". It still does the same thing. The USB floppy boots my ACER WIN 7 Laptop. However, when tried on my WIN 7 DELL Studio XPS Laptop, the same way as on the Optiplex, it gives the same error message.

Do you believe the DELL systems should be looking at a Windows file when trying to do a clean boot from MSDOS?
  4. Wouldn't it be easier just to use DOSBox, or run DOS in a Virtual Machine?
  5. Ijack said:
    Wouldn't it be easier just to use DOSBox, or run DOS in a Virtual Machine?

No.

I need the memory for multiple windows of Basic Programs.

It is easy to boot to DOS on other machines. Why do you think I am unanble to do this on the "Opti" 780?
  6. You can give a Virtual Machine as much memory as you want.