How to set up a pay per use WiFi network?

sb_pete

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2002
Hello, I am interested in setting up a wireless network in a coffeeshop owned by a friend of mine. I have a few questions here:

1. what hardware would be necessary? obviously the router, but where do access points come into the equation for extending the range?

2. how would I go about distributing time to paying users? I am obviously going to need to set up a firewall of some sort, but I have no experience in this.

3. Any good sites to learn more about how to set up the neccesarry security measures?

4. Does anyone know of any programs for assigning users time restricted access?

Basically I am being asked to help (which in this case basically means do it for him, but I am interested to learn how) set up an internet cafe without computers provided. I am thinking he will run in an ADSL line of some sort and charge users by the hour.

Also, lastly, the idea has come up to rent out something like those USB wireless cards to laptop owners without WiFi? Anyone have any experiance/advice about these?

Thanks in advance for any help that anyone can provide.
-Pete

jihiggs

Splendid
Oct 11, 2001
couple ways of doing it, one would be to use the mac address filtering features built into most wireless gateways. that would require a lot of administrative overhead. or you could set up a domain with a proxy server, just set up several domain users and activate the accounts when people pay.

how do you shoot the devil in the back? what happens if you miss? -verbal

sb_pete

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2002
well, the mac address idea would work, but I am only interested in helping him establish this thing, not run it thereafter. I would like to be able to set him up with a way to assign timed availability to people using either the computer he already uses as a cash register (some windows based app) or maybe us an old PII machine with a KVM switch or something if you think stability might be an issue here.