Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Should I change to 7?

Last response: in Windows 7
December 8, 2010 2:09:50 PM

I am running a 32-bit version of Windows Vista Home Premium. My computer is slowing down and I have found spy/malware (I would have to pay to remove them with the program that I used to scan for them) on my computer. I also have an old Geforce driver installed as I have put an ATI graphics card (4850 with 512 MB) on my pc which originally had a Geforce . I think that it might be the reason why my computer is crashing.
Because of this I have decided that I want to reinstall windows. I have two options. Should I use the back-up DVDs that I made or should I install Windows 7?
I mostly play games so is it worth 7? I have seen that one of my games (Fable the Lost Chapters) may not work with 7.
Also if I install 7 should I go for a 32-bit or 64-bit version? I have 3 gigs of RAM. My computer can run a 64_bit OS.
I am a student so I do not have that much spare money. What do you think that I should do?

More about : change

December 8, 2010 3:15:37 PM

Hi,

If you have 3 gigs of ram got for windows 7 32bit as it wont read more than 3.2 to 3.4gb of ram.

Windows Vista is a disaster and i always recommend windows 7 to my clients.

Good luck.
a b $ Windows 7
December 8, 2010 3:35:20 PM

Hi arzhur - If decide to upgrade to Windows 7 (which I'm sure most of us here think you should) and you are a qualifying student, you can purchase Windows 7 Professional upgrade for at a great student discount of $64.95 - http://www.microsoft.com/student/en/us/software/windows...

Let us know what you decide!

Cheers,
Cassandra
Microsoft Windows Outreach

Related resources
December 8, 2010 4:07:40 PM

I don't think that I qualify for the student discount as I am studying in Ireland (NUIG). Does that mean that I have to buy a Windows for the full price?
December 8, 2010 4:19:39 PM

If I install the upgrade will I still not have all the problems that I have now except for the speed?