Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

help: connect to share - credentials stay

Last response: in Windows XP
Share
Anonymous
May 16, 2005 1:09:26 AM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.security_admin (More info?)

i can't believe i have to go to a newsgroup for this, but
all i tried so far, failed:

---
in simple: a shared folder i once connected to, can be freely
re-accessed even after a logout. how can i clear that credential
or in first place, not have the user/pass cached?


---
in detail:

the setup is a couple of xp boxes. one (S) shares a critical
folder, to wich the others can connect using the administrator
account and pass of the box that shares (S).

then i connected from a second box (C) to that share (browsing the
workgroup) without checking the 'store password' box when entering
username/pass. the problem now: although i logged out from that client
account whenever i log in, the account can browse the workgroup and
freely access the critical folder (S) without being asked for
a password.


1. how can i clear that credential for good?

2. how can i make 100% sure that a password is not cached somewhere
when i access a share and thus make the share avaialable to
anyone logging in after me??


any hints deeply appreciated
Anonymous
May 16, 2005 6:11:17 PM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.security_admin (More info?)

Hi,

Open up the comand propmt and type:

net use * /delete

This will delete all shares and credentials

"Allan Rydberg" wrote:

>
> i can't believe i have to go to a newsgroup for this, but
> all i tried so far, failed:
>
> ---
> in simple: a shared folder i once connected to, can be freely
> re-accessed even after a logout. how can i clear that credential
> or in first place, not have the user/pass cached?
>
>
> ---
> in detail:
>
> the setup is a couple of xp boxes. one (S) shares a critical
> folder, to wich the others can connect using the administrator
> account and pass of the box that shares (S).
>
> then i connected from a second box (C) to that share (browsing the
> workgroup) without checking the 'store password' box when entering
> username/pass. the problem now: although i logged out from that client
> account whenever i log in, the account can browse the workgroup and
> freely access the critical folder (S) without being asked for
> a password.
>
>
> 1. how can i clear that credential for good?
>
> 2. how can i make 100% sure that a password is not cached somewhere
> when i access a share and thus make the share avaialable to
> anyone logging in after me??
>
>
> any hints deeply appreciated
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
!