Report: First AMD 28nm GPU Due in December

Status
Not open for further replies.

jezus53

Distinguished
Mar 27, 2011
[citation][nom]Marco925[/nom]i could use an upgrade, lets not delay anything...ok amd?[/citation]

Agreed, with BF3 out I need to upgrade asap and it would be nice to get the latest and greatest. I know the 6000 series isn't that old, but I really don't want to buy one now if a new series is just around the corner!

BlackHawk91

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2011
"TSMC reportedly increased its pricing for 28nm products as it noticed substantially higher demand" I'm not an expert but, with a higher demand shouldn't prices drop?

jrharbort

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2009
The fact that XDR2 memory is being used over GDDR5 has me concerned, mainly from the pricing aspect. While the memory is insanely fast, RAMBUS products have not been known to be cheap.

laxduck26

Distinguished
Oct 10, 2011
[citation][nom]BlackHawk91[/nom]"TSMC reportedly increased its pricing for 28nm products as it noticed substantially higher demand" I'm not an expert but, with a higher demand shouldn't prices drop?[/citation]

Prices increase when demand increases in the short run because of limited supply. In the long run increased demand will lower prices when the market adjusts to increase overall production and takes advantage of economies of scale, but in the short run economies of scale in production cannot be realized and prices will be bid up by demanders for the limited supply of a good.

In simpler terms, for the time being TSMC can only produce a certain amount of 28nm wafer and people want more than they can produce, so they raise the price because they can make more profit. If demand for 28nm wafer stays high then they will expand their production capabilities, meaning they'll have more to sell and in order to sell all of it they'll need to lower price.

Yay economics!

G