Sign in with
Your question

New to IT, please help

Last response: in Business Computing
March 31, 2011 4:16:20 PM

As everyone knows the job market is horrible. Therefor I have decided to somewhat make a career change. I graduated with a bachelors in business management in Dec. 2008. I have been doing temp jobs ever since, not being able to get something permanent. I have always loved computers so I have decided to do a 3 week boot camp that will get me the A+, Net+ and Sec+. I am wondering what kind of job I can get with those 3 certs and my bachelors. Also what am I lookig at salary wise. I live in the Washington DC area. Thanks a lot for everyones help.

More about : question

Anonymous
March 31, 2011 8:35:48 PM

Don't know about USA, but those will give you first level support/technician/Programmer jobs here in UK, up to £20Kpa
March 31, 2011 8:42:58 PM

Yeah you wont pass all 3 in 3 weeks. No way in hell.
Related resources
March 31, 2011 11:10:05 PM

Its one week each class for each cert. I am not worried at all about not passing. Besides if I dont feel comfortable no one is going to force me to take the exams. I will be just fine. Any other thoughts besides negative ones?
April 4, 2011 3:12:53 PM

If you were to pass all of those tests within three weeks I am assuming that you are already an experienced professional in the field. I can already tell you that those tests are not exactly simple. The A+ is the general basics of Microsoft troubleshooting. Network+ steps it up a bit with the knowlegde needed to answer the questions. Server+ just the same.

I would be cautious, especially if your spending money. I have been in the industry for 12 years and I can tell you that the network+ certification is significantly more in depth than the A+

I wish you luck. If you are an experienced On Site Tech then I would say you can probably pass all three exams with no problem.