Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

Remote Desktop suddenly kicking off logged in user

Last response: in Windows XP
Share
Anonymous
April 25, 2004 11:05:34 PM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.work_remotely (More info?)

So,

I have had remote desktop up and running just fine for
about 6 months, until earlier this week (consequently the
problem occurred just after a bunch of windows
updates.....hmmm, maybe connected, maybe not). I could
leave my work computer up and running and logged into
it's domain. I could come home (or to another computer
at work) and start a remote desktop connection, and it
would open up the destop on the work machine right where
I left it, all open and running programs functioning
propperly, and properly connected to all the work
networks.

Now, I get the message "The user <Domain or Computer
Name>\<username> is currently logged on to this computer.
If you continue, this user's Windows session will end and
any unsaved data will be lost. Do you want to continue?"
as if I am logging in with a different administrator user
name (which I am NOT), and my only option for remote
connecting is to force off the connection I left sitting
up and running. I can't seem to convince the computer
that I am the same user logging in from a different
location (as before). This is quite a problem for me.

Is ther some "remote desktop connection," or "users and
groups" setting that I can't find that can help me to
resolve this problem?

Help.

-David Holcomb
Anonymous
April 26, 2004 10:19:05 AM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.work_remotely (More info?)

The best I can say is to look at this KB article that describes this process...

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=280828

--
Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)

Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual benefit of all of us...
The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...

"David Holcomb" <david@holcomb.com> wrote in message news:3fba01c42b32$f5b426c0$a401280a@phx.gbl...
> So,
>
> I have had remote desktop up and running just fine for
> about 6 months, until earlier this week (consequently the
> problem occurred just after a bunch of windows
> updates.....hmmm, maybe connected, maybe not). I could
> leave my work computer up and running and logged into
> it's domain. I could come home (or to another computer
> at work) and start a remote desktop connection, and it
> would open up the destop on the work machine right where
> I left it, all open and running programs functioning
> propperly, and properly connected to all the work
> networks.
>
> Now, I get the message "The user <Domain or Computer
> Name>\<username> is currently logged on to this computer.
> If you continue, this user's Windows session will end and
> any unsaved data will be lost. Do you want to continue?"
> as if I am logging in with a different administrator user
> name (which I am NOT), and my only option for remote
> connecting is to force off the connection I left sitting
> up and running. I can't seem to convince the computer
> that I am the same user logging in from a different
> location (as before). This is quite a problem for me.
>
> Is ther some "remote desktop connection," or "users and
> groups" setting that I can't find that can help me to
> resolve this problem?
>
> Help.
>
> -David Holcomb
!