Network setup software...?

pmccarthy002

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2011
Hello all,

I just got Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, and finally I have a a 64-bit operating system on this 4-5 year HP Pavilion(!) Actually, lots of questions, but I want to start off with one which isn't exclusively a Windows 7 issue...

I, like I think with many people, have had a lot of trouble trying to access files, folders, and drives on other computers on my home network for years now. Right now, the current frustration is trying to access a new WD 3TB USB drive one of my the computers on my home network... Before you say it, yes, if I had more money, having a network capable drive would be better, as would be buying a new router which had a USB port... however, I just don't have a lot of money right now.

I'm not a newbie to computers... I've had similar problems trying to access files, folders on a Windows ME computer on the home network... Instead of asking anyone to go through this, that, or what not, much of which I've probably already tried(!), I'm wondering if anyone knows of some software (preferably free!) that can help make all the resources I want accessible on the network accessible. It seems this would be a great idea as this seems to have become a real pain in the neck in the last several years(!)

Thanks,

Paul McCarthy
pmccarthy002@nc.rr.com
pmccarthy002@gmail.com

All the software you need is part of windows.

Why would you put a new OS on an old system ? The "new" setup will be waaaaayyyyyy slower than it was under the old OS.

Accessing HD's greater than 2.19 TB is a problem. Read this:

http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,2845,2373702,00.asp

To solve it, well if you have an Asus MoBo, read this:

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/Disk-Unlocker-GUID-Partition-Table-Extensive-Firmware-Interface-HDD,11553.html
http://event.asus.com/mb/2010/Disk_Unlocker/

pmccarthy002

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2011

Hello Jack,

Thanks for your response.