Sign in with
Your question

BSOD on boot after Windows 8 install

Last response: in Windows 8
November 15, 2012 1:24:54 AM

So, getting the chance to try Windows 8 for free by being a CS student, I decided to install it. I installed it on a separate partition, didn't like it, and continued using windows 7. Later that day, my laptop BSOD'd in windows 7 with the error BAD BOOT CALLER. Any attempt to boot after that, whether using windows 8, or windows 7 recovery, results in the BSOD.

I am only able to boot when booting off of usb with Ubuntu. I am unable to access any system drives while booting in Ubuntu.
Also, When running memtest, my laptop restarts near the beginning of the test.

I'm not sure if Windows 8 caused the problem or if it's just an extremely coincidental hardware failure that happened the same day I installed Win8; I doubt the later. I researched the BSOD online, and it's usually attributed with a memory or harddrive failure. But noting the circumstances, I am very suspicious of windows 8. I have no way of formatting the drive for a fresh win7 install. If anyone can help me troubleshoot or fix the problem, it is greatly appreciated.
November 15, 2012 2:26:09 PM

Quote:

Hardware problem. Either motherboard, Power supply, or RAM.

First off, lets try and get memtest working. Remove all the RAM sticks except one, and see if you can at least get memtest to work. If not, then try a different stick. Failing that, try a different RAM slot.

Windows should not have any effect on memtest, and if memtest isn't even able to run, you almost certainly have a H/W problem.
m
l
a b * Windows 8
November 15, 2012 3:11:33 PM

does sound like hardware issue. Just in case you can also
run
sfc.exe /scannow
to check your core OS files for corruption
or run startup repair to fix corruptions in the master boot record
m
l
Related resources
November 15, 2012 7:40:40 PM

gamerk316 said:
Quote:

Hardware problem. Either motherboard, Power supply, or RAM.