Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

Time Calc v1.5

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
Share
Anonymous
April 11, 2005 9:00:02 PM

Archived from groups: rec.video.desktop,rec.video,rec.video.production (More info?)

Due to the overwhelming response from the first version (i.e. NONE AT ALL) I
added different timecodes to this version.

It now supports 24, 25, 29.97, and 30 fps.

Again, let me know what you think (or, more to the point, if it's worth it).

Tom P.

www.padillah.com/software/TimeCalc.zip

More about : time calc

Anonymous
April 11, 2005 9:00:03 PM

Archived from groups: rec.video.desktop,rec.video,rec.video.production (More info?)

It won't run on my machine. Error message: "The dynamic link library
mscoree.dll could not be found . . ."

"Henry Padilla" <padillah@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:m2y6e.449$bc2.347@newssvr17.news.prodigy.com...
> Due to the overwhelming response from the first version (i.e. NONE AT ALL)
I
> added different timecodes to this version.
>
> It now supports 24, 25, 29.97, and 30 fps.
>
> Again, let me know what you think (or, more to the point, if it's worth
it).
>
> Tom P.
>
> www.padillah.com/software/TimeCalc.zip
>
>
>
Anonymous
April 11, 2005 9:00:03 PM

Archived from groups: rec.video.desktop,rec.video,rec.video.production (More info?)

"Henry Padilla" wrote ...
> Due to the overwhelming response from the first version
> (i.e. NONE AT ALL) I added different timecodes to
> this version.
>
> It now supports 24, 25, 29.97, and 30 fps.
>
> Again, let me know what you think (or, more to the point, if it's worth
it).

I found it a bit confusing to use. For example, It is unclear (at least
to me) what is the function of the radio buttons vs. highlighting the
In/Out/Dur value areas?

It also doesn't seem to handle things like 0:90 (90 seconds) = 1:30, etc.
Perhaps a "Help" window or brief instructional text on screen would be
in order?

Some users might also find it helpful to offer a "stays on top" option
to use it as a utility while running other apps.

I was thinking of making something like it, but more like a conventional
calculator with +, - * and / , and with a "tape" of values (like an old-
style calculator).

I think there is also a (or likely several?) macro for eXcel spreadsheets
to calculate H:M:S:F
Anonymous
April 11, 2005 9:00:04 PM

Archived from groups: rec.video.desktop,rec.video,rec.video.production (More info?)

"PTravel" wrote ...
> It won't run on my machine. Error message: "The dynamic
> link library mscoree.dll could not be found . . ."

Install Microsoft .NET

This is just the first of many new apps that will require .NET
support infrastructure.

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=316091
PRB: "Mscoree.dll Could Not Be Found" Error Message
When You Try to Run a .NET Executable File
Anonymous
April 11, 2005 9:23:07 PM

Archived from groups: rec.video.desktop,rec.video,rec.video.production (More info?)

Do you have .NET runtime?

Tom P.

"PTravel" <ptravel@ruyitang.com> wrote in message
news:3bvpl7F6jlmrtU1@individual.net...
> It won't run on my machine. Error message: "The dynamic link library
> mscoree.dll could not be found . . ."
>
> "Henry Padilla" <padillah@hotmail.com> wrote in message
> news:m2y6e.449$bc2.347@newssvr17.news.prodigy.com...
>> Due to the overwhelming response from the first version (i.e. NONE AT
>> ALL)
> I
>> added different timecodes to this version.
>>
>> It now supports 24, 25, 29.97, and 30 fps.
>>
>> Again, let me know what you think (or, more to the point, if it's worth
> it).
>>
>> Tom P.
>>
>> www.padillah.com/software/TimeCalc.zip
>>
>>
>>
>
>
Anonymous
April 11, 2005 9:23:08 PM

Archived from groups: rec.video.desktop,rec.video,rec.video.production (More info?)

Not on my work machine.

"Henry Padilla" <padillah@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:%ny6e.459$bc2.202@newssvr17.news.prodigy.com...
> Do you have .NET runtime?
>
> Tom P.
>
> "PTravel" <ptravel@ruyitang.com> wrote in message
> news:3bvpl7F6jlmrtU1@individual.net...
> > It won't run on my machine. Error message: "The dynamic link library
> > mscoree.dll could not be found . . ."
> >
> > "Henry Padilla" <padillah@hotmail.com> wrote in message
> > news:m2y6e.449$bc2.347@newssvr17.news.prodigy.com...
> >> Due to the overwhelming response from the first version (i.e. NONE AT
> >> ALL)
> > I
> >> added different timecodes to this version.
> >>
> >> It now supports 24, 25, 29.97, and 30 fps.
> >>
> >> Again, let me know what you think (or, more to the point, if it's worth
> > it).
> >>
> >> Tom P.
> >>
> >> www.padillah.com/software/TimeCalc.zip
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >
> >
>
>
Anonymous
April 12, 2005 4:04:56 AM

Archived from groups: rec.video.desktop,rec.video,rec.video.production (More info?)

"Richard Crowley" <richard.7.crowley@intel.com> wrote in message
news:D 3ei0h$b6l$1@news01.intel.com...
> "PTravel" wrote ...
>> It won't run on my machine. Error message: "The dynamic
>> link library mscoree.dll could not be found . . ."
>
> Install Microsoft .NET
>
> This is just the first of many new apps that will require .NET
> support infrastructure.
>
> http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=316091
> PRB: "Mscoree.dll Could Not Be Found" Error Message
> When You Try to Run a .NET Executable File
>

I can't help it. I suppose I could re-write it in C++ but that would take
way too long and it's only a calculator.

A more meaningful app maybe but a stupid calculator?

Tom P.
Anonymous
April 12, 2005 4:04:57 AM

Archived from groups: rec.video.desktop,rec.video,rec.video.production (More info?)

"Henry Padilla" <padillah@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:Gtmdnf4VXvrx1cbfRVn-hA@comcast.com...
>
> "Richard Crowley" <richard.7.crowley@intel.com> wrote in message
> news:D 3ei0h$b6l$1@news01.intel.com...
> > "PTravel" wrote ...
> >> It won't run on my machine. Error message: "The dynamic
> >> link library mscoree.dll could not be found . . ."
> >
> > Install Microsoft .NET
> >
> > This is just the first of many new apps that will require .NET
> > support infrastructure.
> >
> > http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=316091
> > PRB: "Mscoree.dll Could Not Be Found" Error Message
> > When You Try to Run a .NET Executable File
> >
>
> I can't help it. I suppose I could re-write it in C++ but that would take
> way too long and it's only a calculator.
>
> A more meaningful app maybe but a stupid calculator?
>
> Tom P.

I was recomending that PTravel install .NET!
Or at least just download the missing dll file.
Anonymous
April 12, 2005 4:10:54 AM

Archived from groups: rec.video.desktop,rec.video,rec.video.production (More info?)

"Richard Crowley" <richard.7.crowley@intel.com> wrote in message
news:D 3einl$bit$1@news01.intel.com...
> "Henry Padilla" wrote ...
>> Due to the overwhelming response from the first version
>> (i.e. NONE AT ALL) I added different timecodes to
>> this version.
>>
>> It now supports 24, 25, 29.97, and 30 fps.
>>
>> Again, let me know what you think (or, more to the point, if it's worth
> it).
>
> I found it a bit confusing to use. For example, It is unclear (at least
> to me) what is the function of the radio buttons vs. highlighting the
> In/Out/Dur value areas?
>

How about tool tips? I'll also work out an About screen for quick notes and
a Help chm for more detailed instructions.

> It also doesn't seem to handle things like 0:90 (90 seconds) = 1:30, etc.
> Perhaps a "Help" window or brief instructional text on screen would be
> in order?
>

I was torn between supporting this and forcing only valid timecodes. I could
retranslate everything when you click equals. Or would that throw you off
when the numbers changed unexpectedly?


> Some users might also find it helpful to offer a "stays on top" option
> to use it as a utility while running other apps.
>

Nice touch!

> I was thinking of making something like it, but more like a conventional
> calculator with +, - * and / , and with a "tape" of values (like an old-
> style calculator).
>

I have a utility (for the Palm) that does all those too. Truth be told the
buttons are in this app as well but they are currently hidden. I am trying
to come to grips with how and why you would divide 2;45;13 by 1;15;09.


> I think there is also a (or likely several?) macro for eXcel spreadsheets
> to calculate H:M:S:F
>

I know.
I am in no way fooling myself into thinking this is unique or even useful.
I needed one so I wrote it. If you guys can use one... here you go.

Thanks a ton for the input. I'll work on it and see where it gets me.

Tom P.
Anonymous
April 12, 2005 4:10:55 AM

Archived from groups: rec.video.desktop,rec.video,rec.video.production (More info?)

>> I found it a bit confusing to use. For example, It is unclear (at least
>> to me) what is the function of the radio buttons vs. highlighting the
>> In/Out/Dur value areas?

"Henry Padilla" wrote ...
> How about tool tips? I'll also work out an About screen for
> quick notes and a Help chm for more detailed instructions.

How about just removing either the radio buttons or the highlighting?
Still not clear why you need both? Preferable to simplify rather than
trying to explain away complexity.

> I was torn between supporting this and forcing only valid timecodes.
> I could retranslate everything when you click equals. Or would that
> throw you off when the numbers changed unexpectedly?

People who like to do such strange things shouldn't be surprised when
their oddball values get automatically translated into something more
conventional. :-)
Anonymous
April 12, 2005 4:09:29 PM

Archived from groups: rec.video.desktop,rec.video,rec.video.production (More info?)

"Richard Crowley" <richard.7.crowley@intel.com> wrote in message
news:D 3fo2m$tv4$1@news01.intel.com...
>>> I found it a bit confusing to use. For example, It is unclear (at least
>>> to me) what is the function of the radio buttons vs. highlighting the
>>> In/Out/Dur value areas?
>
> "Henry Padilla" wrote ...
>> How about tool tips? I'll also work out an About screen for
>> quick notes and a Help chm for more detailed instructions.
>
> How about just removing either the radio buttons or the highlighting?
> Still not clear why you need both? Preferable to simplify rather than
> trying to explain away complexity.
>

Well, the difference is that the click is for what field you are currently
inputting a value. There will be a box around the current field: In, Out,
or Duration.

Te Radio button is for which field you want results for. So you can input
any two fields and then get the "other" field.

This is also one reason I didn't go for the "add" or "subtract" thing, I'll
figure out which one you want from the context.

Does that help? Is this an OK way to do this or would you rather have two
input fields and a result field and you make the decision of what to do?

Tom P.
Anonymous
April 13, 2005 12:42:33 AM

Archived from groups: rec.video.desktop,rec.video,rec.video.production (More info?)

"Henry Padilla" <padillah@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:ZTO6e.250$HK6.50@newssvr33.news.prodigy.com...
>
> "Richard Crowley" <richard.7.crowley@intel.com> wrote in message
> news:D 3fo2m$tv4$1@news01.intel.com...
>>>> I found it a bit confusing to use. For example, It is unclear (at
>>>> least
>>>> to me) what is the function of the radio buttons vs. highlighting
>>>> the
>>>> In/Out/Dur value areas?
>>
>> "Henry Padilla" wrote ...
>>> How about tool tips? I'll also work out an About screen for
>>> quick notes and a Help chm for more detailed instructions.
>>
>> How about just removing either the radio buttons or the highlighting?
>> Still not clear why you need both? Preferable to simplify rather than
>> trying to explain away complexity.
>>
>
> Well, the difference is that the click is for what field you are
> currently inputting a value. There will be a box around the current
> field: In, Out, or Duration.
>
> Te Radio button is for which field you want results for. So you can
> input any two fields and then get the "other" field.
>
> This is also one reason I didn't go for the "add" or "subtract" thing,
> I'll figure out which one you want from the context.
>
> Does that help? Is this an OK way to do this or would you rather have
> two input fields and a result field and you make the decision of what
> to do?

I did a very similar applet and wrote it so that it would
calculate the third value automatically given any two
inputs. Just three text boxes and automatic calculate on
the "Lose-Focus" event from the text boxes. I also used
the "Lose-Focus" event to automatically convert things
like 90 seconds to 1:30, etc.

I can think of some very good applications for multiply
and divide. I needed it a few months ago when I had
87 stills to fit into 2:48:15

And the rules are simple: A time value multiplied (or
divided) by a time value returns a scalar. A time value
multiplied (or divided) by a scalar returns a time value.
Takes longer to explain than to write the code. :-)
!