Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

Remote Desktop and Spy Sweeper...Definite Problem

Tags:
  • Remote Desktop
  • Connection
  • Computers
  • Windows XP
Last response: in Windows XP
Share
Anonymous
April 27, 2005 2:12:20 AM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.work_remotely (More info?)

I have been using Remote Desktop quite a lot over the past two years to
connect on the road to my home computer from my laptop. I keep both
computers well maintained and Remote Desktop has worked quite well. Both my
home computer and laptop run XP Pro and have 1GB of RAM in each.

On this trip, I was disturbed to be having problems getting a consistent
remote connection. After connecting once and disconnnecting, the next time
I'd try to remote connect I'd get the following message:

The client could not establish a connection to the remote computer.

The most likely causes for this error are:
1) Remote connections might not be enabled at the remote computer.
2) The maximum number of connections was exceeded at the remote computer.
3) A network error occurred while establishing the connection.

The only way I could re-establish a connection was to have someone go to my
home and reboot the computer. And the same behavior would occur - one RD
connection and no more.

I suspected Spy Sweeper as that was the only app I had loaded since I last
used Remote Desktop. Then I read the following post:

http://www.windowsforumz.com/-Remote-Desktop-Connect-in...

Other people were reporting the same problem with Spy Sweeper and saying
that uninstalling resolved their issue. Quite confidently, I just stopped
Spy Sweeper and set the option not to reload upon startup (no uninstall).
Sure enough, I haven't had any problems with Remote Desktop the rest of my
trip.

If anyone knows of a fix or patch, please report it. It's no serious problem
now that I know what the problem is, but I'll probably replace Spy Sweeper
with a competitive product when I return unless there's a fix.

Thanks.

More about : remote desktop spy sweeper definite problem

May 4, 2005 10:20:46 PM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.work_remotely (More info?)

Just for the record, I am also seeing this problem and have SpySweeper
installed. There is a link in the web site pointed to be the URL here
which allegedly has some registry patches to solve the problem but the
file seems to have changed and is now some Zip program. I opened a
problem report with Webroot and will post here when I have a response. I
also noticed that there was a link on their "check for software updates"
page with a SpySweeper 4.0 public beta last week, but it's not there
today. It's not clear if that fixes the problem but I asked them that as
well.

Bill

Sid Joyner wrote:
> I have been using Remote Desktop quite a lot over the past two years to
> connect on the road to my home computer from my laptop. I keep both
> computers well maintained and Remote Desktop has worked quite well. Both my
> home computer and laptop run XP Pro and have 1GB of RAM in each.
>
> On this trip, I was disturbed to be having problems getting a consistent
> remote connection. After connecting once and disconnnecting, the next time
> I'd try to remote connect I'd get the following message:
>
> The client could not establish a connection to the remote computer.
>
> The most likely causes for this error are:
> 1) Remote connections might not be enabled at the remote computer.
> 2) The maximum number of connections was exceeded at the remote computer.
> 3) A network error occurred while establishing the connection.
>
> The only way I could re-establish a connection was to have someone go to my
> home and reboot the computer. And the same behavior would occur - one RD
> connection and no more.
>
> I suspected Spy Sweeper as that was the only app I had loaded since I last
> used Remote Desktop. Then I read the following post:
>
> http://www.windowsforumz.com/-Remote-Desktop-Connect-in...
>
> Other people were reporting the same problem with Spy Sweeper and saying
> that uninstalling resolved their issue. Quite confidently, I just stopped
> Spy Sweeper and set the option not to reload upon startup (no uninstall).
> Sure enough, I haven't had any problems with Remote Desktop the rest of my
> trip.
>
> If anyone knows of a fix or patch, please report it. It's no serious problem
> now that I know what the problem is, but I'll probably replace Spy Sweeper
> with a competitive product when I return unless there's a fix.
>
> Thanks.
>
>
Anonymous
May 5, 2005 7:17:39 PM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.work_remotely (More info?)

Thanks for the update.


"Bill" <billrubin@prodigy.net> wrote in message
news:o RMsaePUFHA.3716@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> Just for the record, I am also seeing this problem and have SpySweeper
> installed. There is a link in the web site pointed to be the URL here
> which allegedly has some registry patches to solve the problem but the
> file seems to have changed and is now some Zip program. I opened a problem
> report with Webroot and will post here when I have a response. I also
> noticed that there was a link on their "check for software updates" page
> with a SpySweeper 4.0 public beta last week, but it's not there today.
> It's not clear if that fixes the problem but I asked them that as well.
>
> Bill
>
> Sid Joyner wrote:
>> I have been using Remote Desktop quite a lot over the past two years to
>> connect on the road to my home computer from my laptop. I keep both
>> computers well maintained and Remote Desktop has worked quite well. Both
>> my home computer and laptop run XP Pro and have 1GB of RAM in each.
>>
>> On this trip, I was disturbed to be having problems getting a consistent
>> remote connection. After connecting once and disconnnecting, the next
>> time I'd try to remote connect I'd get the following message:
>>
>> The client could not establish a connection to the remote computer.
>>
>> The most likely causes for this error are:
>> 1) Remote connections might not be enabled at the remote computer.
>> 2) The maximum number of connections was exceeded at the remote computer.
>> 3) A network error occurred while establishing the connection.
>>
>> The only way I could re-establish a connection was to have someone go to
>> my home and reboot the computer. And the same behavior would occur - one
>> RD connection and no more.
>>
>> I suspected Spy Sweeper as that was the only app I had loaded since I
>> last used Remote Desktop. Then I read the following post:
>>
>> http://www.windowsforumz.com/-Remote-Desktop-Connect-in...
>>
>> Other people were reporting the same problem with Spy Sweeper and saying
>> that uninstalling resolved their issue. Quite confidently, I just stopped
>> Spy Sweeper and set the option not to reload upon startup (no uninstall).
>> Sure enough, I haven't had any problems with Remote Desktop the rest of
>> my trip.
>>
>> If anyone knows of a fix or patch, please report it. It's no serious
>> problem now that I know what the problem is, but I'll probably replace
>> Spy Sweeper with a competitive product when I return unless there's a
>> fix.
>>
>> Thanks.
Related resources
Anonymous
May 5, 2005 7:17:59 PM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.work_remotely (More info?)

Thanks for the update.


"Bill" <billrubin@prodigy.net> wrote in message
news:o RMsaePUFHA.3716@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> Just for the record, I am also seeing this problem and have SpySweeper
> installed. There is a link in the web site pointed to be the URL here
> which allegedly has some registry patches to solve the problem but the
> file seems to have changed and is now some Zip program. I opened a problem
> report with Webroot and will post here when I have a response. I also
> noticed that there was a link on their "check for software updates" page
> with a SpySweeper 4.0 public beta last week, but it's not there today.
> It's not clear if that fixes the problem but I asked them that as well.
>
> Bill
>
> Sid Joyner wrote:
>> I have been using Remote Desktop quite a lot over the past two years to
>> connect on the road to my home computer from my laptop. I keep both
>> computers well maintained and Remote Desktop has worked quite well. Both
>> my home computer and laptop run XP Pro and have 1GB of RAM in each.
>>
>> On this trip, I was disturbed to be having problems getting a consistent
>> remote connection. After connecting once and disconnnecting, the next
>> time I'd try to remote connect I'd get the following message:
>>
>> The client could not establish a connection to the remote computer.
>>
>> The most likely causes for this error are:
>> 1) Remote connections might not be enabled at the remote computer.
>> 2) The maximum number of connections was exceeded at the remote computer.
>> 3) A network error occurred while establishing the connection.
>>
>> The only way I could re-establish a connection was to have someone go to
>> my home and reboot the computer. And the same behavior would occur - one
>> RD connection and no more.
>>
>> I suspected Spy Sweeper as that was the only app I had loaded since I
>> last used Remote Desktop. Then I read the following post:
>>
>> http://www.windowsforumz.com/-Remote-Desktop-Connect-in...
>>
>> Other people were reporting the same problem with Spy Sweeper and saying
>> that uninstalling resolved their issue. Quite confidently, I just stopped
>> Spy Sweeper and set the option not to reload upon startup (no uninstall).
>> Sure enough, I haven't had any problems with Remote Desktop the rest of
>> my trip.
>>
>> If anyone knows of a fix or patch, please report it. It's no serious
>> problem now that I know what the problem is, but I'll probably replace
>> Spy Sweeper with a competitive product when I return unless there's a
>> fix.
>>
>> Thanks.
May 6, 2005 2:29:35 AM

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.work_remotely (More info?)

Good news, I got a response back from Webroot, and when I downloaded and
applied the registry change, it solved the problem! It turns out that
the information included on that web page was had one link in it, and
that was for a free zip program. They neglected to include the 2nd link
from Webroot, which was for the actual registry update. The response I
got from Webroot had that link, and once I applied the fix, it solved
the problem. This is the correct link:

https://supportcenteronline.com/ics/support/DLRedirect....

Bill

Sid Joyner wrote:
> Thanks for the update.
>
>
> "Bill" <billrubin@prodigy.net> wrote in message
> news:o RMsaePUFHA.3716@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
>
>>Just for the record, I am also seeing this problem and have SpySweeper
>>installed. There is a link in the web site pointed to be the URL here
>>which allegedly has some registry patches to solve the problem but the
>>file seems to have changed and is now some Zip program. I opened a problem
>>report with Webroot and will post here when I have a response. I also
>>noticed that there was a link on their "check for software updates" page
>>with a SpySweeper 4.0 public beta last week, but it's not there today.
>>It's not clear if that fixes the problem but I asked them that as well.
>>
>>Bill
>>
>>Sid Joyner wrote:
>>
>>>I have been using Remote Desktop quite a lot over the past two years to
>>>connect on the road to my home computer from my laptop. I keep both
>>>computers well maintained and Remote Desktop has worked quite well. Both
>>>my home computer and laptop run XP Pro and have 1GB of RAM in each.
>>>
>>>On this trip, I was disturbed to be having problems getting a consistent
>>>remote connection. After connecting once and disconnnecting, the next
>>>time I'd try to remote connect I'd get the following message:
>>>
>>>The client could not establish a connection to the remote computer.
>>>
>>>The most likely causes for this error are:
>>>1) Remote connections might not be enabled at the remote computer.
>>>2) The maximum number of connections was exceeded at the remote computer.
>>>3) A network error occurred while establishing the connection.
>>>
>>>The only way I could re-establish a connection was to have someone go to
>>>my home and reboot the computer. And the same behavior would occur - one
>>>RD connection and no more.
>>>
>>>I suspected Spy Sweeper as that was the only app I had loaded since I
>>>last used Remote Desktop. Then I read the following post:
>>>
>>>http://www.windowsforumz.com/-Remote-Desktop-Connect-in...
>>>
>>>Other people were reporting the same problem with Spy Sweeper and saying
>>>that uninstalling resolved their issue. Quite confidently, I just stopped
>>>Spy Sweeper and set the option not to reload upon startup (no uninstall).
>>>Sure enough, I haven't had any problems with Remote Desktop the rest of
>>>my trip.
>>>
>>>If anyone knows of a fix or patch, please report it. It's no serious
>>>problem now that I know what the problem is, but I'll probably replace
>>>Spy Sweeper with a competitive product when I return unless there's a
>>>fix.
>>>
>>>Thanks.
!