Good headphones for gaming?

tdean

Distinguished
May 4, 2001
what are some good head phones for gaming? do i have to be concerned with 3d positioning etc or just a decent pair...

Sometimes I think I'd be better off dead. No, wait, not me, you.

BigMac

Splendid
Nov 25, 2003
Cant really help you as I have no experience with this yet but I am also interested in other responses.

Basically you dont need more than two speakers, one for each ear, as you only have the two ears anyways, but it depends on how the environmental audio is coded in the game. Because when there's a sound from the right, it should also hit the left ear some but with a proper delay and reverb (which depends on how the sound travels in a certain game location). So depending on how well or bad they do this, you might need a setup, that accepts a 5.1 (or better) signal and translates it to proper output for the two ears. There may even be 5.1 headphones that do have multiple speakers in one earpiece (I saw a Zalman model once) but then I wonder how well this holds opposed to listening to a normal 5.1 speaker setup.

BigMac

<A HREF="http://www.p3int.com/product_center_NWO_The_Story.asp" target="_new">New World Order</A>

arkus

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2003
I usually see <A HREF="http://www.sennheiser.com/sennheiser/icm_eng.nsf/root/products_headphones" target="_new">sennheiser</A> reccomended.

<A HREF="http://forums.btvillarin.com/index.php?act=ST&f=41&t=2765&st=0#entry21597" target="_new">My Rigs</A>

tdean

Distinguished
May 4, 2001
thanks for the replies guys. i was talking to a couple sound guys this week and a lot of them recommended the grado sr 80's.

G

I reccomend Labtec headphones, they're designed for computers and have long cords if you don't have front mounted sound ports. I'm a dumbass and break them a lot so I buy two or three of the $20 ones.

<font color=blue> When in doubt, rock the fu*k out </font color=blue>

Snorkius

Splendid
Sep 16, 2003